Ecuador has a total of 25 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival
Monday, March 4, 2019 Carnival is a national holiday in Ecuador
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Ecuador (Quito)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Labor Day / May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Day off for Labor Day / May Day
Friday, May 3, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
The Battle of Pichincha
Friday, May 24, 2019 The Battle of Pichincha is a national holiday in Ecuador
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Ecuador (Quito)
Simón Bolívar's Birthday Memorial
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 Simón Bolívar's Birthday Memorial is a observance in Ecuador
Day off for Independence Day
Friday, August 9, 2019 Independence Day is a national holiday in Ecuador
Independence Day
Saturday, August 10, 2019 Independence Day is a national holiday in Ecuador
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Ecuador (Quito)
Independence of Guayaquil
Friday, October 11, 2019 Independence of Guayaquil is a national holiday in Ecuador
Day off for All Soul's Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
All Soul's Day
Saturday, November 2, 2019 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Independence of Cuenca
Sunday, November 3, 2019 Independence of Cuenca is a national holiday in Ecuador
Day off for Independence of Cuenca
Monday, November 4, 2019 Independence of Cuenca is a national holiday in Ecuador
Foundation of Quito
Friday, December 6, 2019 Foundation of Quito is a local holiday in Ecuador
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Ecuador (Quito)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve extra holiday
Monday, December 30, 2019 New Year's Eve extra holiday is a national holiday in Ecuador
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.