Ecuador has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Carnival
Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Tuesday March 5
Special working day (compensation for Carnival Monday)
Saturday March 9
Special working day (compensation for Carnival Tuesday)
Saturday March 16
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday April 18
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 20
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
The Battle of Pichincha
Friday May 24
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Simón Bolívar´s Birthday Memorial
Wednesday July 24
Independence Day
Saturday August 10
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Independence of Guayaquil
Wednesday October 9
All Soul´s Day
All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Saturday November 2
Independence of Cuenca
Sunday November 3
Foundation of Quito
Friday December 6
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31