Cape Verde has a total of 15 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Democracy Day
Sunday January 13
Heroes' Day
Sunday January 20
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Labour Day
Wednesday May 1
Mother's Day
Sunday May 12
Children's Day
Saturday June 1
Father's Day
Sunday June 16
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Independence Day
Friday July 5
Assumption of Mary
Thursday August 15
September Equinox
Monday September 23
All Saints' Day
Friday November 1
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25