Switzerland has a total of 39 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Berchtold Day
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 Berchtold Day is a public holiday in a number of Switzerland's cantons.
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Republic Day
Friday, March 1, 2019 Republic Day is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Saint Joseph's Day
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 St. Joseph's Day is a public holiday in the predominantly Catholic regions of Switzerland.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Switzerland (Bern)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Daylight Saving Time starts in Switzerland
Näfelser Fahrt
Thursday, April 4, 2019 Näfelser Fahrt is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Sechseläuten
Monday, April 8, 2019 Sechseläuten is an old spring festival that is celebrated each year in Zurich, Switzerland.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Pentecost
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Pentecost Monday
Monday, June 10, 2019 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Corpus Christi is a public holiday in a number of Switzerland's cantons.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Switzerland (Bern)
Jura Independence Day
Sunday, June 23, 2019 Jura Independence Day is a common local holiday in Switzerland
St. Peter and St. Paul
Saturday, June 29, 2019 St. Peter and St. Paul is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Swiss National Day
Thursday, August 1, 2019 Switzerland's National Day falls on August 1.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Jeune Genevois
Thursday, September 5, 2019 Jeune Genevois is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Knabenschiessen
Saturday, September 7, 2019 Knabenschiessen is a traditional shooting competition in Zurich, Switzerland.
Swiss Federal Fast
Sunday, September 15, 2019 Swiss Federal Fast is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Federal Fast Monday
Monday, September 16, 2019 Federal Fast Monday is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Mauritius Day
Sunday, September 22, 2019 Mauritius Day is a common local holiday in Switzerland
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Switzerland (Bern)
St. Nicholas of Flüe
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 St. Nicholas of Flüe is a common local holiday in Switzerland
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Daylight Saving Time ends in Switzerland
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 All Saints is a public holiday in some areas of Switzerland.
Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2019 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Switzerland (Bern)
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
St. Stephen's Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 The Feast of Saint Stephen is a public holiday in large parts of Switzerland.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Restoration Day
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Restoration Day is a common local holiday in Switzerland