Afghanistan has a total of 16 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Naw Roz
Thursday March 21
Afghan Victory Day
Sunday April 28
Ramadan starts
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Monday May 6
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Day of Arafat
Sunday August 11
Eid al-Qurban
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12
Eid al-Qurban Day Two
Tuesday August 13
Eid al-Qurban Day Three
Wednesday August 14
Independence Day (National Day)
Monday August 19
Martyrs and Ahmad Shah Masoud Day
Monday September 9
Ashura
Tuesday September 10
September Equinox
Monday September 23
The Prophet's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10
December Solstice
Sunday December 22