Holy See (Vatican City State) has a total of 29 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Anniversary of the foundation of Vatican City
Monday, February 11, 2019 Anniversary of the foundation of Vatican City is a national holiday in Vatican City State
Anniversary of the election of Pope Francis
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 Anniversary of the election of Pope Francis is a national holiday in Vatican City State
St Joseph's Day
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 St Joseph's Day is a national holiday in Vatican City State
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Vatican City State (Vatican City)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Daylight Saving Time starts in Vatican City State
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
St George's Feast
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 St George's Feast is a national holiday in Vatican City State
Feast of St Joseph the Worker
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Corpus Domini
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Vatican City State (Vatican City)
The Feasts of Saints Peter and Paul
Saturday, June 29, 2019 The Feasts of Saints Peter and Paul is a national holiday in Vatican City State
Day of the Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Assumption Day Holiday
Friday, August 16, 2019 Assumption Day Holiday is a national holiday in Vatican City State
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Vatican City State (Vatican City)
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Daylight Saving Time ends in Vatican City State
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Souls' Day
Saturday, November 2, 2019 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2019 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Vatican City State (Vatican City)
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
St Stephen's Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 St Stephen's Day is a national holiday in Vatican City State
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.