Rwanda has a total of 17 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day After New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 Day After New Year's Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
National Heroes' Day
Friday, February 1, 2019 National Heroes' Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Rwanda (Kigali)
Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day
Sunday, April 7, 2019 Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Labor Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Rwanda (Kigali)
Independence Day
Monday, July 1, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Liberation Day
Thursday, July 4, 2019 Liberation Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Umuganura Day
Friday, August 2, 2019 Umuganura Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Rwanda (Kigali)
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Rwanda (Kigali)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Rwanda