Norway has a total of 44 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
January 1 is a day off for most people in Norway.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday,Flag day
Princess Ingrid Alexandra's day
Princess Ingrid Alexandra of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
Monday January 21 Flag day
The Saami people's day
The Saami People's Day is publicly celebrated in Norway by flying the Norwegian and Saami flags.
Wednesday February 6 Flag day
Mother's Day
Mother's Day is on the second Sunday in February in Norway.
Sunday February 10 Observance
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday February 14 Observance
King Harald V's day
King Harald V of Norway's birthday is a flag day.
Thursday February 21 Flag day
Carnival
For Carnival, Norwegians traditionally serve wheat buns filled with whipped cream.
Sunday March 3 Observance
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 31 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is the Sunday before Easter Sunday and commemorates Jesus' arrival in Jerusalem.
Sunday April 14 Observance
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday commemorates Jesus Christ’s last supper with his disciples.
Thursday April 18 National holiday
Good Friday
Good Friday commemorates Jesus Christ’s Passion, crucifixion, and death.
Friday April 19 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is also known as Easter Saturday, and is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 20 Observance
Easter Day
Easter Sunday is a day off for most in Norway.
Sunday April 21 National holiday,Flag day
Easter Monday
Easter Monday in Norway is the last day of the Easter holiday.
Monday April 22 National holiday
Labor day
Labor Day or May Day on May 1 is a public holiday day in Norway.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday,Flag day
Day of liberation
Liberation Day in Norway marks the end of the German occupation during the second World War.
Wednesday May 8 Observance,Flag day
17 May Constitution Day (1814)
Friday May 17 National holiday,Flag day
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday May 30 National holiday
Dissolution of union with Sweden (1905)
Friday June 7 Flag day
Pentecost Eve
Pentecost Eve is not a public holiday in Norway, but shops close earlier than normal.
Saturday June 8 Observance
Whit Sunday
Whit Sunday or Pentecost is a public holiday in Norway.
Sunday June 9 National holiday,Flag day
Whit Monday
Whit Monday is a public holiday in Norway, making the Pentecost weekend a long weekend.
Monday June 10 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Midsummer Eve
Traditionally, people celebrate Midsummer's Eve by gathering around a large bonfire.
Sunday June 23 Observance
St. John's day
Monday June 24 Observance
Queen Sonja's day
H.M. Queen Sonja of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
Thursday July 4 Flag day
Crown Prince Haakon's day
July 20 is H.K.H. Crown Prince Haakon birthday and a flag day in Norway.
Saturday July 20 Flag day
St. Olaf's day
Monday July 29 Flag day
Crown Princess Mette-Marit's day
August 19 is Crown Princess Mette Marit 's birthday is a flag day in Norway.
Monday August 19 Flag day
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
United Nations Day
The UN Day is on October 24 and is mainly marked in schools and kindergartens in Norway.
Thursday October 24 Observance
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 27 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Thursday October 31 Observance
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday November 10 Observance
First Advent Sunday
Sunday December 1 Observance
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday December 8 Observance
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday December 15 Observance
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday December 22 Observance
Christmas Eve
Norwegians exchange gifts and get together for the main Christmas celebrations on December 24.
Tuesday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday,Flag day
Boxing Day
Boxing Day on December 26 is a public holiday in Norway
Thursday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Observance