Montenegro has a total of 19 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
New Year's Day (day 2)
Wednesday January 2 National holiday
Christmas Eve (Orthodox)
Sunday January 6 National holiday,Orthodox
Christmas Day (Orthodox)
Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Monday January 7 National holiday,Orthodox
Christmas Day, day 2 (Orthodox)
Tuesday January 8 National holiday,Orthodox
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Good Friday (Orthodox)
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Friday April 26 National holiday,Orthodox
Easter Sunday (Orthodox)
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Sunday April 28 Observance,Orthodox
Easter Monday (Orthodox)
Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Monday April 29 National holiday,Orthodox
Labour Day/May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Labour Day/May Day (day 2)
Thursday May 2 National holiday
Independence Day
Tuesday May 21 National holiday
Independence Day (day 2)
Wednesday May 22 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Statehood Day
Saturday July 13 National holiday
Statehood Day (day 2)
Sunday July 14 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Observance