Democratic People's Republic of Korea has a total of 21 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
Lunar New Year's Day
Tuesday February 5 National holiday
Birth date of Kim Jong Il
Saturday February 16 National holiday
Cheongwoldaeboreum
Tuesday February 19 National holiday
International Women's Day
Friday March 8 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Birth Date of Kim Il Sung
Monday April 15 National holiday
Chosun People's Army Foundation Day
Thursday April 25 National holiday
May Day
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Chosun Children's Union Foundation Day
Thursday June 6 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Day of Victory in the Fatherland Liberation War
Saturday July 27 National holiday
Liberation Day
Thursday August 15 National holiday
Day of Songun
Sunday August 25 National holiday
National Day
Monday September 9 National holiday
Chuseok Harvest Festival
Monday September 9 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Party Foundation Day
Thursday October 10 National holiday
Mother's Day
Saturday November 16 Observance
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
Constitution Day
Friday December 27 National holiday