Iran has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
Martyrdom of Fatima
Saturday February 9 National holiday
Revolution Day
Monday February 11 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Birthday of Imam Ali
Wednesday March 20 National holiday
Prophet's Ascension
Wednesday April 3 National holiday
Imam Mahdi's birthday
Sunday April 21 National holiday
Martyrdom of Imam Ali
Sunday May 26 National holiday
Eid-e-Fetr (End of Ramadan)
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5 National holiday
Eid-e-Fetr (Additional Holiday)
Thursday June 6 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Martyrdom of Imam Sadeq
Saturday June 29 National holiday
Eid-e-Ghorban (Feast of Sacrifice)
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12 National holiday
Eid-e-Ghadir
Tuesday August 20 National holiday
Tassoua
Monday September 9 National holiday
Ashura
Tuesday September 10 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Arbaeen
Sunday October 20 National holiday
Demise of Prophet Muhammad and Martyrdom of Imam Hassan
Monday October 28 National holiday
Martyrdom of Imam Reza
Tuesday October 29 National holiday
Martyrdom of Imam Hasan al-Askari
Wednesday November 6 National holiday
Birthday of Prophet Muhammad and Imam Sadeq
Friday November 15 National holiday
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season