Israel has a total of 40 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
Erev Purim
Wednesday March 20 Observance,Hebrew
Yom HaAliyah
Monday April 15 Observance
Erev Pesach
Friday April 19 Observance,Hebrew
Pesach I (First day of Passover)
During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Saturday April 20 National holiday,Hebrew
Pesach II (Passover)
Sunday April 21 Observance,Hebrew
Pesach III (Passover)
Monday April 22 Observance,Hebrew
Pesach IV (Passover)
Tuesday April 23 Observance,Hebrew
Pesach V (Passover)
Wednesday April 24 Observance,Hebrew
Pesach VI (Passover)
Thursday April 25 Observance,Hebrew
Pesach VII (Last day of Passover)
The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Friday April 26 National holiday,Hebrew
Yom HaShoah/Holocaust Memorial Day
Yom HaShoah is a Jewish day of remembrance for the lives and the heroism of the six million Jewish people who died in the Holocaust in the years leading up to and during World War II.
Thursday May 2 Observance,Hebrew
Yom HaZikaron (Memorial Day)
Wednesday May 8 Observance,Hebrew
Yom HaAtzmaut (Independence Day)
Israel's Independence Day, also known as Yom Ha'atzmaut, marks the anniversary of the Declaration of Independence of Israel.
Thursday May 9 National holiday,Hebrew
Erev Shavuot
Saturday June 8 Observance,Hebrew
Shavuot (Pentecost)
Shavuot, sometimes known as the Festival of the Weeks, is a Jewish holiday to mark the end of the Counting of the Omer and the anniversary of the day when Jewish people received the Torah.
Sunday June 9 National holiday,Hebrew
Erev Tisha B'Av
Saturday August 10 Observance,Hebrew
Tisha B'Av
Tisha B' Av is a Jewish day of prayer and fasting. It is observed on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar. It commemorate the anniversary of five calamities, including the destruction of the First Temple and the Second Temple.
Sunday August 11 Observance,Hebrew
Erev Rosh Hashana
Sunday September 29 Observance,Hebrew
Rosh Hashana (New Year)
Rosh Hashana, commonly known as the Jewish New Year, is the first day of Tishrei, the seventh month in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday September 30 National holiday,Hebrew
Rosh Hashana II (New Year day 2)
Tuesday October 1 National holiday,Hebrew
Erev Yom Kippur
Tuesday October 8 Observance,Hebrew
Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Wednesday October 9 National holiday,Hebrew
Erev Sukkot
Sunday October 13 Observance,Hebrew
Sukkot I
The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Monday October 14 National holiday,Hebrew
Sukkot II
Tuesday October 15 Observance,Hebrew
Sukkot III
Wednesday October 16 Observance,Hebrew
Sukkot IV
Thursday October 17 Observance,Hebrew
Sukkot V
Friday October 18 Observance,Hebrew
Sukkot VI
Saturday October 19 Observance,Hebrew
Sukkot VII/Hoshanah Rabah
The last day of Sukkot marks the end of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Sunday October 20 Observance,Hebrew
Shmini Atzeret/Simchat Torah
Monday October 21 National holiday,Hebrew
Yom HaAliyah School Observance
Tuesday November 5 Observance
Hanukkah I (Holiday of lights)
Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for 8 days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday December 23 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah II
Tuesday December 24 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah III
Wednesday December 25 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah IV
Thursday December 26 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah V
Friday December 27 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah VI/Rosh Chodesh Tevet
Saturday December 28 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah VII
Sunday December 29 Observance,Hebrew
Hanukkah VIII
Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for eight days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday December 30 Observance,Hebrew