Greece has a total of 24 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Epiphany
Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Sunday January 6
The Three Holy Hierarchs
Wednesday January 30
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday February 14
Clean Monday
Monday March 11
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
25th of March (national holiday)
Monday March 25
Annunciation of the Lord
Monday March 25
Orthodox Good Friday
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Friday April 26
Orthodox Easter Sunday
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Sunday April 28
Orthodox Easter Monday
Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Monday April 29
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Orthodox Holy Spirit Sunday
Sunday June 16
Orthodox Holy Spirit Monday
Monday June 17
June Solstice
Friday June 21
The Restoration of Democracy
Wednesday July 24
Dormition of the Holy Virgin
The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Thursday August 15
September Equinox
Monday September 23
The Ochi day
Monday October 28
Polytechneio
Sunday November 17
Armed Forces Day
Thursday November 21
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
Synaxis of the Mother of God
Thursday December 26