Spain has a total of 77 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Reconquest Day
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 Reconquest Day is a provincial holiday in Spain
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Epiphany is a public holiday and the day most Christmas presentes are exchanged in Spain.
Epiphany observed
Monday, January 7, 2019 Epiphany observed on January 7 is a public holiday in most Spanish regions whenever January 6 is on a Sunday.
Day of Saint Ildefonso
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 Day of Saint Ildefonso is a observance in Spain
St. Valero's Feast
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 St. Valero's Feast is a provincial holiday in Spain
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Day of Andalucía
Thursday, February 28, 2019 The Day of Andalucía, also known as Andalucía Day, is an annual public holiday in the Andalucía autonomous community in Spain on February 28.
Day of the Balearic Islands
Friday, March 1, 2019 The Day of the Balearic Islands is held on March 1 to remember the date when the Balearic Islands' Statute of Autonomy came into effect. It is a local public holiday in this area in Spain.
Fifth of March
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Fifth of March is a provincial holiday in Spain
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
San Jose
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 Saint Joseph's Day honors St Joseph, the Virgin Mary's spouse. It is a public holiday in some parts of Spain on March 19 each year.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Spain (Madrid)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Daylight Saving Time starts in Spain
Sermon of the Tortillas
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Sermon of the Tortillas is a observance in Spain
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Day of Aragón
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 The Day of Aragon celebrates the Spanish region of Aragon's culture and history. It is an annual local public holiday on April 23.
St George's Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 St George's Day is an occasion for people in Catalonia to give loved ones a rose and a book.
Castile and León Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Castile and León Day is celebrated in the Spanish autonomous community of Castile and León on April 23 every year.
Labor Day / May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Day of Madrid
Thursday, May 2, 2019 The Day of the Autonomous Community of Madrid, Spain, marks the anniversary of an uprising against French troops in Madrid. It is an annual local public holiday on May 2.
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 5, 2019 One of Spain’s most popular and festive family occasions is Mothers’ Day on the first Sunday in May.
Feast Day of St Isidore
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Feast Day of St Isidore is a provincial holiday in Spain
Galicia Literature Day
Friday, May 17, 2019 Galicia Literature Day is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Day of the Canary Islands
Thursday, May 30, 2019 The Day of the Canary Islands marks the anniversary of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament's first session. It is a local public holiday on the Canary Islands on May 30 each year.
Day of Castile-La Mancha
Friday, May 31, 2019 The Day of the Region of Castilla-La Mancha marks the anniversary of when Castilla-La Mancha's first regional courts were opened. It is an annual public holiday in this Spanish region on May 31.
Day of Murcia
Sunday, June 9, 2019 The Day of the Region of Murcia marks the anniversary of when the autonomy of Murcia's statutes was approved. It is an annual public holiday in Murcia, Spain, on June 9.
Day of La Rioja
Sunday, June 9, 2019 The Day of La Rioja is an annual public holiday in the Spanish autonomous community of La Rioja on June 9.
Whit Sunday/Pentecost
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 10, 2019 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Day off for Day of Murcia
Monday, June 10, 2019 The Day of the Region of Murcia marks the anniversary of when the autonomy of Murcia's statutes was approved. It is an annual public holiday in Murcia, Spain, on June 9.
Day off for Day of La Rioja
Monday, June 10, 2019 The Day of La Rioja is an annual public holiday in the Spanish autonomous community of La Rioja on June 9.
San Antonio
Thursday, June 13, 2019 The Day of Saint Anthony of Padua marks the anniversary of St Anthony's death. It is a local public holiday in Ceuta, Spain, on June 13 each year.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Spain (Madrid)
Saint John the Baptist Day
Monday, June 24, 2019 Saint John the Baptist Day is annually held on June 24 to honor the life of St John, an early Christian saint. It is a public holiday in Catalonia, Spain.
Feast of San Juan
Monday, June 24, 2019 Feast of San Juan is a observance in Spain
Festival of the Vaquillas
Saturday, July 13, 2019 Festival of the Vaquillas is a observance in Spain
Feast of Saint James the Apostle
Thursday, July 25, 2019 Saint James' Day is an occasion to honor the life and deeds of one of Jesus' disciples. It is a public holiday in the autonomous communities of the Basque Country and Galicia in Spain on July 25.
Feast of the White Virgin
Monday, August 5, 2019 Feast of the White Virgin is a provincial holiday in Spain
The Day of Our Lady of Africa
Monday, August 5, 2019 The Day of Our Lady of Africa honors the patron saint of the city of Ceuta. It is a public holiday in this Spanish city on August 5.
The Day of Cantabria
Sunday, August 11, 2019 The Day of Cantabria celebrates the history, culture and language of the Cantabrian region of Spain. It is annually held on the second Sunday of August.
Eid al-Adha
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Feast of Saint Maginus
Monday, August 19, 2019 Feast of Saint Maginus is a observance in Spain
Day of the Independent City of Ceuta
Monday, September 2, 2019 The Day of Ceuta is celebrated as a local public holiday in the city of Ceuta in Spain on September 2 each year. This date commemorates when Pedro de Menezes (Meneses) took control of Ceuta.
Virgin of the Plains
Sunday, September 8, 2019 Virgin of the Plains is a provincial holiday in Spain
Day of Asturias
Sunday, September 8, 2019 The Day of Asturias commemorates the Virgin of Covadonga and the Battle of Covadonga. It is an annual local public holiday in the autonomous community of Asturias in Spain on September 8.
Day of Extremadura
Sunday, September 8, 2019 The Day of Extremadura marks the anniversary of the Virgin Mary's birth. It is a local public holiday in Extremadura, Spain, on September 8.
Virgin of the Victory
Sunday, September 8, 2019 Virgin of the Victory is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Day of Asturias observed
Monday, September 9, 2019 The Day of Asturias commemorates the Virgin of Covadonga and the Battle of Covadonga. It is an annual local public holiday in the autonomous community of Asturias in Spain on September 8.
Day of Extremadura observed
Monday, September 9, 2019 The Day of Extremadura marks the anniversary of the Virgin Mary's birth. It is a local public holiday in Extremadura, Spain, on September 8.
Virgin of the Victory observed
Monday, September 9, 2019 Virgin of the Victory is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Day of Catalonia
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 The Day of Catalonia commemorates the end of the siege of Barcelona in 1714. It is a local public holiday in Barcelona, Spain, on September 11.
Nuestra Señora de la Bien Aparecida
Sunday, September 15, 2019 Nuestra Señora de la Bien Aparecida is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Day of Melilla
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 The Day of Melilla marks the anniversary of the storming of the city in 1497 and is a public holiday in Melilla, Spain.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Spain (Madrid)
Day of Saint Tecla
Monday, September 23, 2019 Day of Saint Tecla is a observance in Spain
Day of the Valencian Community
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 The Day of the Valencian Community is a local public holiday in Valencia, Spain, on October 9 each year. It celebrates Valencian culture and history.
Hispanic Day
Saturday, October 12, 2019 Hispanic Day marks the anniversary of the date that Christopher Columbus first set foot in the Americas. It is a public holiday in Spain on October 12.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Daylight Saving Time ends in Spain
All Saint's Day Holiday
Friday, November 1, 2019 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Day of Navarre
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 People celebrate the culture of the Navarre region in Spain and life of Saint Francis Xavier on the Day of Navarre. It is an annual local public holiday in this region on December 3.
Constitution Day Holiday
Friday, December 6, 2019 Constitution Day marks the anniversary of the referendum to approve the Spanish Constitution and is a public holiday in Spain.
Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2019 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Immaculate Conception observed
Monday, December 9, 2019 Immaculate Conception observed is a national holiday in Spain
Day of Saint Leocadia
Monday, December 9, 2019 Day of Saint Leocadia is a observance in Spain
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Spain (Madrid)
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
St Stephen's Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 The Feast of St Stephen is a holiday to commemorate the life and death of an early Christian saint.
Feast of the Holy Family
Sunday, December 29, 2019 Feast of the Holy Family is a observance in Spain
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.