Djibouti has a total of 16 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Djibouti (Djibouti)
Isra and Miraj
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Labor Day / May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr Holiday
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid al-Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Djibouti
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Djibouti (Djibouti)
Independence Day
Thursday, June 27, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Djibouti
Independence Day Holiday
Friday, June 28, 2019 Independence Day Holiday is a public holiday in Djibouti
Arafat Day
Saturday, August 10, 2019 Arafat Day is a public holiday in Djibouti
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Eid al-Adha is a public holiday in Djibouti
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a public holiday in Djibouti
Muharram
Saturday, August 31, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Djibouti (Djibouti)
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Djibouti (Djibouti)