Cape Verde has a total of 15 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Democracy Day
Sunday, January 13, 2019 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
National Heroes' Day
Sunday, January 20, 2019 National Heroes' Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Labour Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Children's Day
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Children's Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Independence Day
Friday, July 5, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Cabo Verde (Praia)
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.