Brunei Darussalam has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Chinese New Year
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
National Day
Saturday, February 23, 2019 National Day is a public holiday in Brunei
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Brunei (Bandar Seri Begawan)
Isra and Mi'raj
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Ramadan Start
Monday, May 6, 2019 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Nuzul Al-Qur'an
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Nuzul Al-Qur'an is a public holiday in Brunei
Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day
Friday, May 31, 2019 Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day is a public holiday in Brunei
Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day observed
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day is a public holiday in Brunei
Eid ul Fitr
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid Al Fitr Holiday
Thursday, June 6, 2019 Eid Al Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Brunei
Eid Al Fitr Holiday observed
Saturday, June 8, 2019 Eid Al Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Brunei
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Brunei (Bandar Seri Begawan)
Sultan's Birthday
Monday, July 15, 2019 Sultan's Birthday is a public holiday in Brunei
Eid ul Adha
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid ul Adha observed
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Sunday, September 1, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Muharram/Islamic New Year observed
Monday, September 2, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Brunei (Bandar Seri Begawan)
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Brunei (Bandar Seri Begawan)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.