Bangladesh has a total of 61 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 Common local holiday
Bangabandhu Homecoming Day
Thursday January 10 Common local holiday
Saraswati Puja
Sunday February 10 Common local holiday
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday February 14 Observance
Maghi Purnima
Tuesday February 19 National holiday
Language Martyrs' Day
Thursday February 21 National holiday
National Flag Day
Saturday March 2 Common local holiday
Maha Shivaratri
Monday March 4 Hinduism,Common local holiday
Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Wednesday March 6 Common local holiday
Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birthday
Sunday March 17 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Holi
Thursday March 21 Hinduism
Doljatra
Thursday March 21 National holiday
Independence Day
Tuesday March 26 National holiday
Shab-e-Meraj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Wednesday April 3 Common local holiday
Chaitra Sankranti
Saturday April 13 National holiday
Bengali New Year
Sunday April 14 National holiday
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday April 18 Common local holiday
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19 Common local holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 20 Common local holiday
Shab e-Barat
Sunday April 21 National holiday
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21 Common local holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22 Common local holiday
May Day
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Mothers' Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 12 Observance
Buddha Purnima/Vesak
Saturday May 18 National holiday
Jumatul Bidah
Friday May 31 National holiday
Shab-e-qadr
Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Sunday June 2 National holiday
Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Friday June 7 National holiday
Eid ul-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5 National holiday
Fathers' Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday June 16 Observance
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
July 1 Bank Holiday
Monday July 1 Common local holiday
Ashari Purnima
Tuesday July 16 National holiday
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12 National holiday
Eid al-Adha Day 2
Tuesday August 13 National holiday
Eid al-Adha Day 3
Wednesday August 14 National holiday
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday August 15 Hinduism
National Mourning Day
Thursday August 15 National holiday
Eid al-Adha Day 4
Thursday August 15 Common local holiday
Janmashtami
Friday August 23 Hinduism
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday September 2 Hinduism
Ashura
Tuesday September 10 National holiday
Madhu Purnima
Friday September 13 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Mahalaya
Saturday September 28 National holiday
First Day of Navaratri
Sunday September 29 Hinduism
Durga Puja
Tuesday October 8 Common local holiday
Lakshmi Puja
Sunday October 13 National holiday
Prabarana Purnima
Sunday October 13 National holiday
Akhari Chahar Somba
Wednesday October 23 National holiday
Sri Shayama Puja
Sunday October 27 National holiday
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Thursday October 31 Observance
Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10 National holiday
Fateha-i-Yajdaham
Monday December 9 National holiday
Victory Day
Monday December 16 National holiday
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24 Common local holiday
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday
Boxing Day
Thursday December 26 Common local holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Common local holiday