Afghanistan has a total of 18 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Afghanistan (Kabul)
Naw Roz
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Naw Roz is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Afghan Victory Day
Sunday, April 28, 2019 Afghan Victory Day is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Loya Jirga Gathering Holiday (Kabul Only)
Monday, April 29, 2019 Loya Jirga Gathering Holiday (Kabul Only) is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Ramadan starts
Monday, May 6, 2019 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr Holiday
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid al-Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Afghanistan
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Afghanistan (Kabul)
Day of Arafat
Saturday, August 10, 2019 Day of Arafat is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Eid al-Qurban
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Qurban Holiday
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Qurban Holiday is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Independence Day (National Day)
Monday, August 19, 2019 Independence Day (National Day) is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Martyrs and Ahmad Shah Masoud Day
Monday, September 9, 2019 Martyrs and Ahmad Shah Masoud Day is a public holiday in Afghanistan
Ashura
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 Ashura is a public holiday in Afghanistan
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Afghanistan (Kabul)
Presidential Elections
Saturday, September 28, 2019 Presidential Elections is a public holiday in Afghanistan
The Prophet's Birthday
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Afghanistan (Kabul)