Norway has a total of 44 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
January 1 is a day off for most people in Norway.
Monday January 1 National holiday,Flag day
Princess Ingrid Alexandra's day
Princess Ingrid Alexandra of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
Sunday January 21 Flag day
The Saami people's day
The Saami People's Day is publicly celebrated in Norway by flying the Norwegian and Saami flags.
Tuesday February 6 Flag day
Carnival
For Carnival, Norwegians traditionally serve wheat buns filled with whipped cream.
Sunday February 11 Observance
Mother's Day
Mother's Day is on the second Sunday in February in Norway.
Sunday February 11 Observance
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Wednesday February 14 Observance
King Harald V's day
King Harald V of Norway's birthday is a flag day.
Wednesday February 21 Flag day
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 25 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is the Sunday before Easter Sunday and commemorates Jesus' arrival in Jerusalem.
Sunday March 25 Observance
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday commemorates Jesus Christ’s last supper with his disciples.
Thursday March 29 National holiday
Good Friday
Good Friday commemorates Jesus Christ’s Passion, crucifixion, and death.
Friday March 30 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is also known as Easter Saturday, and is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday March 31 Observance
Easter Day
Easter Sunday is a day off for most in Norway.
Sunday April 1 National holiday,Flag day
Easter Monday
Easter Monday in Norway is the last day of the Easter holiday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
Labor day
Labor Day or May Day on May 1 is a public holiday day in Norway.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday,Flag day
Day of liberation
Liberation Day in Norway marks the end of the German occupation during the second World War.
Tuesday May 8 Observance,Flag day
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday May 10 National holiday
17 May Constitution Day (1814)
Thursday May 17 National holiday,Flag day
Pentecost Eve
Pentecost Eve is not a public holiday in Norway, but shops close earlier than normal.
Saturday May 19 Observance
Whit Sunday
Whit Sunday or Pentecost is a public holiday in Norway.
Sunday May 20 National holiday,Flag day
Whit Monday
Whit Monday is a public holiday in Norway, making the Pentecost weekend a long weekend.
Monday May 21 National holiday
Dissolution of union with Sweden (1905)
Thursday June 7 Flag day
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Midsummer Eve
Traditionally, people celebrate Midsummer's Eve by gathering around a large bonfire.
Saturday June 23 Observance
St. John's day
Sunday June 24 Observance
Queen Sonja's day
H.M. Queen Sonja of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
Wednesday July 4 Flag day
Crown Prince Haakon's day
July 20 is H.K.H. Crown Prince Haakon birthday and a flag day in Norway.
Friday July 20 Flag day
St. Olaf's day
Sunday July 29 Flag day
Crown Princess Mette-Marit's day
August 19 is Crown Princess Mette Marit 's birthday is a flag day in Norway.
Sunday August 19 Flag day
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
United Nations Day
The UN Day is on October 24 and is mainly marked in schools and kindergartens in Norway.
Wednesday October 24 Observance
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 28 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Wednesday October 31 Observance
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday November 11 Observance
First Advent Sunday
Sunday December 2 Observance
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday December 9 Observance
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday December 16 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday December 23 Observance
Christmas Eve
Norwegians exchange gifts and get together for the main Christmas celebrations on December 24.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday,Flag day
Boxing Day
Boxing Day on December 26 is a public holiday in Norway
Wednesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance