Ireland has a total of 17 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year's Day is the first day of the year. It is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Monday January 1 National holiday
St. Patrick's Day
St Patrick’s Day is the feast day of Ireland's patron saint. It is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Saturday March 17 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Good Friday
Good Friday is an occasion for Christians to commemorate Jesus Christ's crucifixion. It is a day of rest and Christian worship in the Republic of Ireland.
Friday March 30 Observance
Easter
Easter Sunday is an occasion for Christians to celebrate Jesus' resurrection, which occurred after his crucifixion according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 Observance
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Monday April 2 National holiday
May Day
The first Monday of May is a public holiday in Ireland. It does not have an official name but is often referred to as May Day or Labour Day.
Monday May 7 National holiday
June Bank Holiday
The June Holiday is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland on the first Monday of June.
Monday June 4 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
August Bank Holiday
The first Monday of August is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Monday August 6 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
October Bank Holiday
The last Monday of October is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Monday October 29 National holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day in the Republic of Ireland. It also marks the start of the Christmas festive period.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is an occasion for Christians to celebrate the Jesus Christ's birth. It is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
St. Stephen's Day
St Stephen's Day commemorates the life of St Stephen, an early Christian martyr. It is a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland.
Wednesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year's Eve is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar. It serves as an occasion for parties and celebrations.
Monday December 31 Observance