China has a total of 30 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
New Year's weekend
Tuesday January 2 Common local holiday
Spring Festival Eve
Thursday February 15 National holiday
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year, also known as the Spring Festival, is one of the largest celebratory events in China.
Friday February 16 National holiday
Spring Festival Golden Week holiday
Wednesday February 21 Common local holiday
Lantern Festival
Friday March 2 Observance
International Women's Day
Thursday March 8 Observance
Arbor Day
Monday March 12 Observance
Zhonghe Festival
Sunday March 18 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Qing Ming Jie
Thursday April 5 National holiday
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Youth Day
Friday May 4 Observance
Children's Day
Friday June 1 Observance
Dragon Boat Festival
The Dragon Boat Festival is also known as the Duanwu Festival in China. It is celebrated on the fifth day of the fifth month on the Chinese lunisolar calendar.
Monday June 18 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
CPC Founding Day
Sunday July 1 Observance
Maritime Day
Wednesday July 11 Observance
Army Day
Wednesday August 1 Observance
Chinese Valentine's Day
Friday August 17 Observance
Spirit Festival
Saturday August 25 Observance
Teachers' Day
Monday September 10 Observance
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Mid-Autumn Festival
Monday September 24 National holiday
National Day
Monday October 1 National holiday
National Day Golden Week holiday
Sunday October 7 Common local holiday
Double Ninth Festival
Wednesday October 17 Observance
Journalists' Day
Thursday November 8 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 Observance