Ghana has a total of 25 holidays in 2017. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday January 1 National holiday
New Year's Day observed
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 2 National holiday
Independence Day
Monday March 6 National holiday
March Equinox
Monday March 20 Season
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 14 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 15 Observance,Christian
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 16 Observance,Christian
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 17 National holiday
May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Monday May 1 National holiday
Mothers' Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 14 Observance
African Union Day
Thursday May 25 National holiday
Fathers' Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday June 18 Observance
June Solstice
Wednesday June 21 Season
Id ul Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Monday June 26 National holiday
Republic Day
Saturday July 1 National holiday
Republic Day observed
Monday July 3 National holiday
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Saturday September 2 National holiday
Founder's Day
Thursday September 21 National holiday
September Equinox
Friday September 22 Season
Farmer's Day
Friday December 1 National holiday
December Solstice
Thursday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday December 24 Observance,Christian
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 25 National holiday
Boxing Day
Tuesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday December 31 Observance