Australia has a total of 111 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year's Day is the first day of the year in the Gregorian calendar used in Australia and many other countries.
Day off for New Year's Day
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year's Day is the first day of the year in the Gregorian calendar used in Australia and many other countries.
Epiphany
Friday, January 6, 2023 Many people in countries such as Australia annually observe Epiphany on January 6.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Saturday, January 7, 2023 Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia observe Christmas Day on or near January 7 in the Gregorian calendar.
Orthodox New Year
Saturday, January 14, 2023 Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia celebrate New Year’s Day on January 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Lunar New Year
Sunday, January 22, 2023 Lunar New Year marks the first day of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Lunar New Year Holiday (Day 2)
Monday, January 23, 2023 Lunar New Year Holiday (Day 2) is a state holiday in Australia
Australia Day
Thursday, January 26, 2023 Australia Day is the Australian national day. It is celebrated on January 26 each year.
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Monday, February 6, 2023 Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Royal Hobart Regatta
Monday, February 13, 2023 The Royal Hobart Regatta is an annual public holiday in southern Tasmania, Australia, on the second Monday in February.
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 Valentine’s Day, which is annually held on February 14, is one of the most romantic days in the year for many people in countries such as Australia.
Isra and Mi'raj
Saturday, February 18, 2023 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday / Pancake Day
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Shrove Tuesday is the day before the start of the Lent period for many Christians in Australia.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in for many Christians in Australia.
Labour Day
Monday, March 6, 2023 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Purim
Tuesday, March 7, 2023 Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Labour Day
Monday, March 13, 2023 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Eight Hours Day
Monday, March 13, 2023 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Adelaide Cup
Monday, March 13, 2023 Adelaide Cup is a state holiday and a horse racing event in South Australia.
Canberra Day
Monday, March 13, 2023 Canberra Day is a public holiday that celebrates Canberra’s official founding in the Australian Capital Territory.
National Close the Gap Day
Thursday, March 16, 2023
St Patrick's Day
Friday, March 17, 2023 St Patrick’s Day is a popular observance in Australia to honor Irish culture and commemorate one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Australia (Sydney)
Harmony Day
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 Harmony Day is a national observance that celebrates Australia’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity on March 21 every year.
Ramadan Start
Thursday, March 23, 2023 Many Muslims in Australia welcome Ramadan as period of fasting, self-evaluation and spiritual growth. Ramadan is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Saturday, April 1, 2023 Daylight Saving Time ends in Australia
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 2, 2023 Palm Sunday in Australia celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Many Christians in the Australia celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
First day of Passover
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Passover is a Jewish observance of the liberation from slavery and the Israelites' exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Self Determination Day
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Self Determination Day is a state holiday in Australia
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 8, 2023 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in some states and the two territories in Australia.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 On Easter Sunday, Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ after his crucifixion.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a nationwide holiday in Australia.
Easter Tuesday
Tuesday, April 11, 2023 Easter Tuesday is a public holiday in the Australian state of Tasmania.
Last day of Passover
Thursday, April 13, 2023 The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday.
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 15, 2023 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Orthodox Easter
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia celebrate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Sunday, also known as Pascha.
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Monday, April 17, 2023 Laylat al-Qadr is most likely to be held on one of the last 10 days of month of Ramadan in the Islamic calendar.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 17, 2023 Many Orthodox churches in Australia observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Yom HaShoah
Tuesday, April 18, 2023 Yom Hashoah remembers the lives and sacrifices of about six million Holocaust victims who died during World War II. This observance is annually held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan.
Eid ul Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr, which is on the first day of the Islamic month of Shawwal, marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Hari Raya Puasa
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Day off for Hari Raya Puasa
Monday, April 24, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
ANZAC Day
Tuesday, April 25, 2023 ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
ANZAC Day Observed
Tuesday, April 25, 2023 ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
Yom HaAtzmaut
Wednesday, April 26, 2023 Many Jewish communities in Australia celebrate Yom Ha’Atzmaut, which is Israel’s Independence Day, on the fifth day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Labour Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
The Coronation of King Charles III
Saturday, May 6, 2023 The Coronation of King Charles III is a observance in Australia
Lag B'Omer
Tuesday, May 9, 2023 Many Jewish Australians observe Lag B’Omer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day is celebrated in Australia on the second Sunday of May each year.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Shavuot
Friday, May 26, 2023 Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among many Jewish Australians.
National Sorry Day
Friday, May 26, 2023 National Sorry Day is an Australia-wide observance that acknowledges the impact of Australia’s Stolen Generations.
Pentecost
Sunday, May 28, 2023 Many Christians in Australia observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 29, 2023 Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Reconciliation Day
Monday, May 29, 2023 Reconciliation Day is a state holiday in the Australian Capital Territory.
Trinity Sunday
Sunday, June 4, 2023 Many churches in Australia observe Trinity Sunday, a Christian feast that occurs on the first Sunday after Pentecost.
Western Australia Day
Monday, June 5, 2023 Foundation Day is a public holiday in the state of Western Australia to commemorate the founding of the first British colony in the state.
Queensland Day
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 Queenslanders commemorate their state’s birthday on Queensland Day in Australia.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 8, 2023 Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
King's Birthday
Monday, June 12, 2023 The King’s birthday is an annual public holiday in parts of Australia celebrating the official birthday of King Charles III.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Australia (Sydney)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Many Muslims in Australia celebrate Eid al- Adha around the 10th to the 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah.
Hari Raya Haji
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Hari Raya Haji is a state holiday in Australia
First Day of NAIDOC Week
Sunday, July 2, 2023 First Day of NAIDOC Week is a observance in Australia
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 The first day of Muharram, which is the first month in the Islamic calendar, marks the start of the Islamic New Year.
Tisha B'Av
Thursday, July 27, 2023 Tisha B’Av is on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Ashura
Friday, July 28, 2023 Ashura is a Muslim in Australia
New South Wales Bank Holiday
Monday, August 7, 2023 The New South Wales Bank Holiday falls on the first Monday of August.
Northern Territory Picnic Day
Monday, August 7, 2023 Picnic Day is a public holiday annually held in Australia’s Northern Territory on the first Monday of August.
Assumption of Mary
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an annual Christian observance in Australia held on August 15. It is considered a Holy Day of Obligation - a day when some Christian denominations are obliged to attend mass.
Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland
Wednesday, August 16, 2023 The Royal National Agricultural (RNA) Show Day is usually held in Brisbane, the capital city of the state of Queensland, Australia, on the second or third Wednesday in August.
Father's Day
Sunday, September 3, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates the contribution that fathers and father figures make to their children’s lives.
Rosh Hashana
Saturday, September 16, 2023 Rosh Hashana, also spelled Rosh Hashanah, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year. The event begins on the first day of Tishrei (or Tishri), which is the seventh month in the Jewish calendar.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Australia (Sydney)
Yom Kippur
Monday, September 25, 2023 Yom Kippur is an important Jewish holiday that falls on the 10th day of the month of Tishrei in the Jewish calendar.
King's Birthday
Monday, September 25, 2023 The King’s birthday is an annual public holiday in parts of Australia celebrating the official birthday of King Charles III.
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Eid Milad ul-Nabi marks the anniversary of the Prophet Muhammad's birth and death.
Hari Maulad Nabi
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Hari Maulad Nabi is a state holiday in Australia
Friday before the AFL Grand Final
Friday, September 29, 2023 Friday before the AFL Grand Final is a state holiday in Australia
First day of Sukkot
Saturday, September 30, 2023 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival for Jewish communities in Australia.
Daylight Saving Time starts
Saturday, September 30, 2023 Daylight Saving Time starts in Australia
Territory Day
Monday, October 2, 2023 Territory Day is a state holiday in Australia
King's Birthday
Monday, October 2, 2023 The King’s birthday is an annual public holiday in parts of Australia celebrating the official birthday of King Charles III.
Labour Day
Monday, October 2, 2023 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Wednesday, October 4, 2023 Many churches in Australia celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Hoshana Rabbah
Friday, October 6, 2023 Many Jewish communities in Australia observe the last day of Sukkot, which marks the end of the Sukkot festival.
Shemini Atzeret
Saturday, October 7, 2023 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) marks the end of Sukkot and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Sunday, October 8, 2023 Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
International Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day
Sunday, October 15, 2023 International Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day is a observance in Australia
Royal Hobart Show
Thursday, October 26, 2023 Royal Hobart Show is a state holiday in Australia
Halloween
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in Australian communities on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Many churches in Australia annually observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Souls' Day
Thursday, November 2, 2023 All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christians in Australia on November 2 each year.
Recreation Day
Monday, November 6, 2023 Recreation Day is annually celebrated in northern Tasmania, in Australia, on the first Monday of November.
Melbourne Cup Day
Tuesday, November 7, 2023 Melbourne Cup Day is Australia’s most celebrated horse racing event. It is an annual public holiday in the state of Victoria and is observed nationwide on the first Tuesday of November.
Remembrance Day
Saturday, November 11, 2023 Remembrance Day in Australia is annually observed on November 11 although it is not a public holiday. This event remembers those who died as a result of war, particularly from World War I onwards.
Diwali/Deepavali
Sunday, November 12, 2023 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
First Sunday of Advent
Sunday, December 3, 2023 Many Christians mark the First Sunday of Advent as the start of the Advent season leading up to Christmas.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Friday, December 8, 2023 Some Christians, particularly those of Catholic faith, in Australia mark the Feast of the Immaculate Conception on or around December 8.
First Day of Hanukkah
Friday, December 8, 2023 The first day of Hanukkah is the start of the Hanukkah period, which lasts for 8 days, from the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Last day of Hanukkah
Friday, December 15, 2023 The last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a festive Jewish occasion, known as Hanukkah or Chanukah.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Australia (Sydney)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve in Australia is annually celebrated on December 24, which is the day before Christmas Day.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus on Christmas Day, which is in the middle of summer in Australia.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 December 26 is the Boxing Day holiday celebrated in Australia.
Proclamation Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Proclamation Day is a state holiday in Australia
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 Many Australians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 each year, which coincides with the date before New Year’s Day in the Gregorian calendar.