Papua New Guinea has a total of 15 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 8, 2020 The Queen's birthday, also known as the Queen's Official Birthday, is celebrated in many Commonwealth countries around the world. It is a public holiday in countries such as Australia, New Zealand, and Gibraltar, although on different dates.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
National Remembrance Day
Thursday, July 23, 2020 National Remembrance Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
National Day of Repentance
Wednesday, August 26, 2020 National Day of Repentance is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
Independence Day
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea