Japan has a total of 32 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
January 2 Bank Holiday
Thursday, January 2, 2020 January 2 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan
January 3 Bank Holiday
Friday, January 3, 2020 January 3 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan
Coming of Age Day
Monday, January 13, 2020 Coming of Age Day is a national holiday in Japan
National Foundation Day
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 National Foundation Day is a national holiday in Japan
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Emperor's Birthday
Sunday, February 23, 2020 Emperor's Birthday is a national holiday in Japan
Emperor's Birthday observed
Monday, February 24, 2020 Emperor's Birthday is a national holiday in Japan
Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival is a observance in Japan
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Japan (Tokyo)
Spring Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 Spring Equinox is a national holiday in Japan
Shōwa Day
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 Shōwa Day is a national holiday in Japan
Constitution Memorial Day
Sunday, May 3, 2020 Constitution Memorial Day is a national holiday in Japan
Greenery Day
Monday, May 4, 2020 Greenery Day is a national holiday in Japan
Children's Day
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Children's Day is a national holiday in Japan
Constitution Memorial Day observed
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 Constitution Memorial Day is a national holiday in Japan
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Japan (Tokyo)
Star Festival
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Star Festival is a observance in Japan
Sea Day
Thursday, July 23, 2020 Sea Day is a national holiday in Japan
Sports Day
Friday, July 24, 2020 Sports Day is a national holiday in Japan
Hiroshima Memorial Day
Thursday, August 6, 2020 Hiroshima Memorial Day is a observance in Japan
Nagasaki Memorial Day
Sunday, August 9, 2020 Nagasaki Memorial Day is a observance in Japan
Mountain Day
Monday, August 10, 2020 Mountain Day is a national holiday in Japan
Respect for the Aged Day
Monday, September 21, 2020 Respect for the Aged Day is a national holiday in Japan
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Japan (Tokyo)
Autumn Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 Autumn Equinox is a national holiday in Japan
Culture Day
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 Culture Day is a national holiday in Japan
7-5-3 Day
Sunday, November 15, 2020 7-5-3 Day is a observance in Japan
Labor Thanksgiving Day
Monday, November 23, 2020 Labor Thanksgiving Day is a national holiday in Japan
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Japan (Tokyo)
Christmas
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
December 31 Bank Holiday
Thursday, December 31, 2020 December 31 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan