Australia has a total of 115 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year's Day is the first day of the year in the Gregorian calendar used in Australia and many other countries.
Epiphany
Monday, January 6, 2020 Many people in countries such as Australia annually observe Epiphany on January 6.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia observe Christmas Day on or near January 7 in the Gregorian calendar.
Orthodox New Year
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia celebrate New Year’s Day on January 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Chinese New Year
Saturday, January 25, 2020 Chinese New Year marks the first day of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Australia Day
Sunday, January 26, 2020 Australia Day is a day of celebrations for Australians. It is celebrated on January 26 each year.
Australia Day Observed
Monday, January 27, 2020 Australia Day is a day of celebrations for Australians. It is celebrated on January 26 each year.
Chinese New Year Observed
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 Chinese New Year marks the first day of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Chinese New Year (Day 2)
Wednesday, January 29, 2020 Chinese New Year (Day 2) is a state holiday in Australia
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Monday, February 10, 2020 Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Royal Hobart Regatta
Monday, February 10, 2020 The Royal Hobart Regatta is an annual public holiday in southern Tasmania, Australia, on the second Monday in February.
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day, which is annually held on February 14, is one of the most romantic days in the year for many people in countries such as Australia.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Shrove Tuesday is the day before the start of the Lent period for many Christians in Australia.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in for many Christians in Australia.
Labour Day
Monday, March 2, 2020 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Foundation Day
Friday, March 6, 2020 Foundation Day is a state holiday in Australia
May Day
Monday, March 9, 2020 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Eight Hours Day
Monday, March 9, 2020 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Adelaide Cup
Monday, March 9, 2020 Adelaide Cup is a state holiday and a horse racing event in South Australia.
Canberra Day
Monday, March 9, 2020 Canberra Day is a public holiday that celebrates Canberra’s official founding in the Australian Capital Territory.
Purim
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Labour Day
Monday, March 16, 2020 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
St Patrick's Day
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 St Patrick’s Day is a popular observance in Australia to honor Irish culture and commemorate one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick.
National Close the Gap Day
Thursday, March 19, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Australia (Sydney)
Harmony Day
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Harmony Day is a national observance that celebrates Australia’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity on March 21 every year.
Isra and Mi'raj
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Saturday, April 4, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends in Australia
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Palm Sunday in Australia celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Self Determination Day
Monday, April 6, 2020 Self Determination Day is a state holiday in Australia
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Many Christians in the Australia celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
First day of Passover
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Passover is a Jewish observance of the liberation from slavery and the Israelites' exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in some states and the two territories in Australia.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 On Easter Sunday, Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ after his crucifixion.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a nationwide holiday in Australia.
Easter Tuesday
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Easter Tuesday is a public holiday in the Australian state of Tasmania.
Last day of Passover
Thursday, April 16, 2020 The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 17, 2020 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday.
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 18, 2020 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Orthodox Easter
Sunday, April 19, 2020 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia celebrate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Sunday, also known as Pascha.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 20, 2020 Many Orthodox churches in Australia observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Yom HaShoah
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 Yom Hashoah remembers the lives and sacrifices of about six million Holocaust victims who died during World War II. This observance is annually held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan.
Ramadan Start
Friday, April 24, 2020 Many Muslims in Australia welcome Ramadan as period of fasting, self-evaluation and spiritual growth. Ramadan is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
ANZAC Day
Saturday, April 25, 2020 ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
ANZAC Day Observed
Saturday, April 25, 2020 ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
ANZAC Day Additional Public Holiday
Monday, April 27, 2020 ANZAC Day Additional Public Holiday is a common state holiday in Australia
Yom HaAtzmaut
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 Many Jewish communities in Australia celebrate Yom Ha’Atzmaut, which is Israel’s Independence Day, on the fifth day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
May Day
Monday, May 4, 2020 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day is celebrated in Australia on the second Sunday of May each year.
Lag B'Omer
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 Many Jewish Australians observe Lag B’Omer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 Laylat al-Qadr is most likely to be held on one of the last 10 days of month of Ramadan in the Islamic calendar.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Eid ul Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid al-Fitr, which is on the first day of the Islamic month of Shawwal, marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Hari Raya Puasa
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Day off for Hari Raya Puasa
Monday, May 25, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
National Sorry Day
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 National Sorry Day is an Australia-wide observance that acknowledges the impact of Australia’s Stolen Generations.
Shavuot
Friday, May 29, 2020 Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among many Jewish Australians.
Pentecost
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Many Christians in Australia observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 1, 2020 Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Western Australia Day
Monday, June 1, 2020 Foundation Day is a public holiday in the state of Western Australia to commemorate the founding of the first British colony in the state.
Reconciliation Day
Monday, June 1, 2020 Reconciliation Day is a state holiday in the Australian Capital Territory.
Queensland Day
Saturday, June 6, 2020 Queenslanders commemorate their state’s birthday on Queensland Day in Australia.
Trinity Sunday
Sunday, June 7, 2020 Many churches in Australia observe Trinity Sunday, a Christian feast that occurs on the first Sunday after Pentecost.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 8, 2020 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
Bounty Day
Monday, June 8, 2020 Bounty Day is a state holiday in Australia
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 11, 2020 Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 15, 2020 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Australia (Sydney)
First Day of NAIDOC Week
Sunday, July 5, 2020 First Day of NAIDOC Week is a observance in Australia
Tisha B'Av
Thursday, July 30, 2020 Tisha B’Av is on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Eid ul Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Many Muslims in Australia celebrate Eid al- Adha around the 10th to the 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah.
Hari Raya Haji
Friday, July 31, 2020 Hari Raya Haji is a state holiday in Australia
New South Wales Bank Holiday
Monday, August 3, 2020 The New South Wales Bank Holiday falls on the first Monday of August.
Northern Territory Picnic Day
Monday, August 3, 2020 Picnic Day is a public holiday annually held in Australia’s Northern Territory on the first Monday of August.
Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 The Royal National Agricultural (RNA) Show Day is usually held in Brisbane, the capital city of the state of Queensland, Australia, on the second or third Wednesday in August.
Assumption of Mary
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an annual Christian observance in Australia held on August 15. It is considered a Holy Day of Obligation - a day when some Christian denominations are obliged to attend mass.
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Father's Day
Sunday, September 6, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates the contribution that fathers and father figures make to their children’s lives.
Rosh Hashana
Saturday, September 19, 2020 Rosh Hashana, also spelled Rosh Hashanah, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year. The event begins on the first day of Tishrei (or Tishri), which is the seventh month in the Jewish calendar.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Australia (Sydney)
Friday before the AFL Grand Final
Friday, September 25, 2020 Friday before the AFL Grand Final is a state holiday in Australia
Yom Kippur
Monday, September 28, 2020 Yom Kippur is an important Jewish holiday that falls on the 10th day of the month of Tishrei in the Jewish calendar.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, September 28, 2020 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
First day of Sukkot
Saturday, October 3, 2020 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival for Jewish communities in Australia.
Daylight Saving Time starts
Saturday, October 3, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts in Australia
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Sunday, October 4, 2020 Many churches in Australia celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Territory Day
Monday, October 5, 2020 Territory Day is a state holiday in Australia
Queen's Birthday
Monday, October 5, 2020 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
May Day
Monday, October 5, 2020 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Hoshana Rabbah
Friday, October 9, 2020 Many Jewish communities in Australia observe the last day of Sukkot, which marks the end of the Sukkot festival.
Shemini Atzeret
Saturday, October 10, 2020 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) marks the end of Sukkot and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Sunday, October 11, 2020 Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Norfolk Island Agricultural Show Day
Monday, October 12, 2020 Norfolk Island Agricultural Show Day is a state holiday in Australia
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Eid Milad ul-Nabi marks the anniversary of the Prophet Muhammad's birth and death.
Hari Maulad Nabi
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Hari Maulad Nabi is a state holiday in Australia
Halloween
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in Australian communities on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Many churches in Australia annually observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Souls' Day
Monday, November 2, 2020 All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christians in Australia on November 2 each year.
Recreation Day
Monday, November 2, 2020 Recreation Day is annually celebrated in northern Tasmania, in Australia, on the first Monday of November.
Melbourne Cup Day
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 Melbourne Cup Day is Australia’s most celebrated horse racing event. It is an annual public holiday in the state of Victoria and is observed nationwide on the first Tuesday of November.
Remembrance Day
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Remembrance Day in Australia is annually observed on November 11 although it is not a public holiday. This event remembers those who died as a result of war, particularly from World War I onwards.
Diwali/Deepavali
Saturday, November 14, 2020 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, November 25, 2020 Thanksgiving Day is a state holiday in Australia
First Sunday of Advent
Sunday, November 29, 2020 Many Christians mark the First Sunday of Advent as the start of the Advent season leading up to Christmas.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 Some Christians, particularly those of Catholic faith, in Australia mark the Feast of the Immaculate Conception on or around December 8.
First Day of Hanukkah
Friday, December 11, 2020 The first day of Hanukkah is the start of the Hanukkah period, which lasts for 8 days, from the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Last day of Hanukkah
Friday, December 18, 2020 The last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a festive Jewish occasion, known as Hanukkah or Chanukah.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Australia (Sydney)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve in Australia is annually celebrated on December 24, which is the day before Christmas Day.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus on Christmas Day, which is in the middle of summer in Australia.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 December 26 is the Boxing Day holiday celebrated in Australia.
Boxing Day Observed
Monday, December 28, 2020 December 26 is the Boxing Day holiday celebrated in Australia.
Proclamation Day
Monday, December 28, 2020 Proclamation Day is a state holiday in Australia
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 Many Australians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 each year, which coincides with the date before New Year’s Day in the Gregorian calendar.