Montenegro has a total of 35 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Day Holiday
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year's Day Holiday is a national holiday in Montenegro
New Year's Day observed
Tuesday, January 3, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Orthodox Christmas Eve
Friday, January 6, 2023 Orthodox Christmas Eve is a national holiday in Montenegro
Orthodox Christmas Day
Saturday, January 7, 2023 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Orthodox Christmas Day Holiday
Sunday, January 8, 2023 Orthodox Christmas Day Holiday is a national holiday in Montenegro
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Montenegro (Podgorica)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Orthodox Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 17, 2023 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Ramdan Bayram
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Ramdan Bayram is a season in Montenegro
Ramdan Bayram Holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Ramdan Bayram Holiday is a season in Montenegro
Labour Day/May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Labour Day/May Day Holiday
Tuesday, May 2, 2023 Labour Day/May Day Holiday is a national holiday in Montenegro
Independence Day
Sunday, May 21, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Montenegro
Independence Day Holiday
Monday, May 22, 2023 Independence Day Holiday is a national holiday in Montenegro
Independence Day observed
Tuesday, May 23, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Montenegro
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Montenegro (Podgorica)
Kurban Bayram
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Kurban Bayram is a season in Montenegro
Kurban Bayram Holiday
Friday, June 30, 2023 Kurban Bayram Holiday is a season in Montenegro
Statehood Day
Thursday, July 13, 2023 Statehood Day is a national holiday in Montenegro
Statehood Day Holiday
Friday, July 14, 2023 Statehood Day Holiday is a national holiday in Montenegro
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Montenegro (Podgorica)
Yom Kippur
Monday, September 25, 2023 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Yom Kippur Holiday
Tuesday, September 26, 2023 Yom Kippur Holiday is a season in Montenegro
All Saint's Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Montenegro (Podgorica)
Mother's Day
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is a season in Montenegro
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is a season in Montenegro
Day After Christmas
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Day After Christmas is a season in Montenegro
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.