Libya has a total of 16 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Libyan Revolution Day
Friday, February 17, 2023 Libyan Revolution Day is a public holiday in Libya
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Libya (Tripoli)
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr Holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Eid al-Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Libya
May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Libya (Tripoli)
Day of Arafah
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Day of Arafah is a public holiday in Libya
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Friday, June 30, 2023 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a public holiday in Libya
Muharram
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Martyrs' Day
Saturday, September 16, 2023 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Libya
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Libya (Tripoli)
The Prophet's Birthday
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Liberation Day
Monday, October 23, 2023 Liberation Day is a public holiday in Libya
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Libya (Tripoli)
Independence Day
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Libya