Burkina Faso has a total of 20 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for New Year
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Burkina Faso Popular Uprising Day
Tuesday, January 3, 2023 Burkina Faso Popular Uprising Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
International Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Labour Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
National Day
Saturday, August 5, 2023 National Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
Assumption of Mary
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
The Prophet's Birthday
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Martyrs' Day
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
All Saints
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 All Saints is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
Proclamation of Independence Day
Monday, December 11, 2023 Proclamation of Independence Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.