Ecuador has a total of 26 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival
Monday, February 28, 2022 Carnival is a national holiday in Ecuador
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Ecuador (Quito)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 16, 2022 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Labor Day / May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Day off for Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 2, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Day off for The Battle of Pichincha
Monday, May 23, 2022 The Battle of Pichincha is a national holiday in Ecuador
The Battle of Pichincha
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 The Battle of Pichincha is a national holiday in Ecuador
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Ecuador (Quito)
Simón Bolívar's Birthday Memorial
Sunday, July 24, 2022 Simón Bolívar's Birthday Memorial is a observance in Ecuador
Independence Day
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 Independence Day is a national holiday in Ecuador
Day off for Independence Day
Friday, August 12, 2022 Independence Day is a national holiday in Ecuador
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Ecuador (Quito)
Independence of Guayaquil
Sunday, October 9, 2022 Independence of Guayaquil is a national holiday in Ecuador
Day off for Independence of Guayaquil
Monday, October 10, 2022 Independence of Guayaquil is a national holiday in Ecuador
All Souls' Day
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Independence of Cuenca
Thursday, November 3, 2022 Independence of Cuenca is a national holiday in Ecuador
Day off for All Souls' Day
Friday, November 4, 2022 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Foundation of Quito
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 Foundation of Quito is a local holiday in Ecuador
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Ecuador (Quito)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for Christmas Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.