Russian Federation has a total of 29 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 Russians celebrate New Year’s Day in accordance with the Gregorian calendar on January 1.
New Year Holiday Week
Thursday, January 2, 2020 A 2012 decree has extended the number of days, and the dates for the New Year break.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Many Russians celebrate Christmas Day on January 7 in the Gregorian calendar, which corresponds to December 25 in the Julian calendar.
New Year Holiday Week
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 A 2012 decree has extended the number of days, and the dates for the New Year break.
Old New Year
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 Old New Year is a observance in Russia
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Defender of the Fatherland Day
Sunday, February 23, 2020 Many Russians celebrate Defender of the Fatherland Day on February 23, when they honor military forces and veterans.
Defender of the Fatherland Day observed
Monday, February 24, 2020 Many Russians celebrate Defender of the Fatherland Day on February 23, when they honor military forces and veterans.
Special Operations Forces Day
Thursday, February 27, 2020 Special Operations Forces Day in Russia falls on February 27.
International Women's Day
Sunday, March 8, 2020 Many Russians pay tribute to women’s role in Russian society by celebrating International Women’s Day on March 8.
International Women's Day observed
Monday, March 9, 2020 Many Russians pay tribute to women’s role in Russian society by celebrating International Women’s Day on March 8.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Russia (Moscow)
Isra and Mi'raj
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Orthodox Easter Day
Sunday, April 19, 2020 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Ramadan starts
Friday, April 24, 2020 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Spring and Labor Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 For many Russians, Spring and Labor Day, which falls on May 1, is a family holiday and a time for relaxation.
Victory Day
Saturday, May 9, 2020 One of the biggest Russian holidays, Victory Day, marks Germany’s surrender to the Soviet Union in 1945, ending one of the bloodiest wars in Russia’s history.
Victory Day observed
Monday, May 11, 2020 One of the biggest Russian holidays, Victory Day, marks Germany’s surrender to the Soviet Union in 1945, ending one of the bloodiest wars in Russia’s history.
Lailat al-Qadr
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Russia Day
Friday, June 12, 2020 Russia Day, annually celebrated on June 12, marks the beginning of democratic reforms in Russia and is one of the newest holidays in the Russian Federation.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Russia (Moscow)
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Muharram
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Day of Knowledge
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Day of Knowledge is a observance in Russia
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Russia (Moscow)
The Prophet's Birthday
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Unity Day
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 Unity Day, which is on November 4, is one of the newest and the most controversial holidays in Russia.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Russia (Moscow)