Norway has a total of 44 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 January 1 is a day off for most people in Norway.
Princess Ingrid Alexandra's day
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 Princess Ingrid Alexandra of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
The Saami people's day
Thursday, February 6, 2020 The Saami People's Day is publicly celebrated in Norway by flying the Norwegian and Saami flags.
Mother's Day
Sunday, February 9, 2020 Mother's Day is on the second Sunday in February in Norway.
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
King Harald V's day
Friday, February 21, 2020 King Harald V of Norway's birthday is a flag day.
Carnival
Sunday, February 23, 2020 For Carnival, Norwegians traditionally serve wheat buns filled with whipped cream.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Norway (Oslo)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts in Norway
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Palm Sunday is the Sunday before Easter Sunday and commemorates Jesus' arrival in Jerusalem.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Maundy Thursday commemorates Jesus Christ’s last supper with his disciples.
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday commemorates Jesus Christ’s Passion, crucifixion, and death.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is also known as Easter Saturday, and is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday is a day off for most in Norway.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday in Norway is the last day of the Easter holiday.
Labor day
Friday, May 1, 2020 Labor Day or May Day on May 1 is a public holiday day in Norway.
Day of liberation
Friday, May 8, 2020 Liberation Day in Norway marks the end of the German occupation during the second World War.
17 May Constitution Day (1814)
Sunday, May 17, 2020 17 May Constitution Day (1814) is a national holiday and flag day in Norway
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Pentecost Eve
Saturday, May 30, 2020 Pentecost Eve is not a public holiday in Norway, but shops close earlier than normal.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Whit Sunday or Pentecost is a public holiday in Norway.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 1, 2020 Whit Monday is a public holiday in Norway, making the Pentecost weekend a long weekend.
Dissolution of union with Sweden (1905)
Sunday, June 7, 2020 Dissolution of union with Sweden (1905) is a flag day in Norway
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Norway (Oslo)
Midsummer Eve
Tuesday, June 23, 2020 Traditionally, people celebrate Midsummer's Eve by gathering around a large bonfire.
St. John's day
Wednesday, June 24, 2020 St. John's day is a observance in Norway
Queen Sonja's day
Saturday, July 4, 2020 H.M. Queen Sonja of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
Crown Prince Haakon's day
Monday, July 20, 2020 July 20 is H.K.H. Crown Prince Haakon birthday and a flag day in Norway.
St. Olaf's day
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 St. Olaf's day is a flag day in Norway
Crown Princess Mette-Marit's day
Wednesday, August 19, 2020 August 19 is Crown Princess Mette Marit 's birthday is a flag day in Norway.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Norway (Oslo)
United Nations Day
Saturday, October 24, 2020 The UN Day is on October 24 and is mainly marked in schools and kindergartens in Norway.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 25, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends in Norway
Halloween
Saturday, October 31, 2020 On Halloween, more and more Norwegian kids dress up in costumes to go trick or treating.
Father's Day
Sunday, November 8, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 29, 2020
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 6, 2020 Second Advent Sunday is a national holiday in Norway
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 13, 2020 Third Advent Sunday is a national holiday in Norway
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 20, 2020 Fourth Advent Sunday is a national holiday in Norway
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Norway (Oslo)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Norwegians exchange gifts and get together for the main Christmas celebrations on December 24.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day on December 26 is a public holiday in Norway
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.