Malaysia has a total of 63 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Besar
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Federal Territory Day
Saturday, February 1, 2020
Thaipusam
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Friday, February 14, 2020
Maha Shivaratri
Friday, February 21, 2020
Anniversary of the coronation of the Sultan of Terengganu
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Holi
Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Sunday, March 22, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Johor
Monday, March 23, 2020
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Declaration of Malacca as Historical City
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Ramadan begins
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Friday, April 24, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Terengganu
Sunday, April 26, 2020
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Friday, May 1, 2020
Wesak Day
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Pahang State Holiday
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Nuzul Al-Quran
Sunday, May 10, 2020
Hari Raya Puasa
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Sunday, May 24, 2020
Hari Raya Puasa Day 2
Monday, May 25, 2020
Hari Raya Puasa
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Harvest Festival
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Harvest Festival Day 2
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Harvest Festival Day 2 observed
Monday, June 1, 2020
Gawai Dayak
Monday, June 1, 2020
Gawai Dayak Holiday
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
George Town World Heritage City Day
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Penang Governor's Birthday
Saturday, July 11, 2020
Birthday of the Raja of Perlis
Friday, July 17, 2020
Sarawak Independence Day
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Hari Raya Haji
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Friday, July 31, 2020
Hari Raya Haji (Day 2)
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Hari Raya Haji holiday
Sunday, August 2, 2020
Raksha Bandhan
Monday, August 3, 2020
Janmashtami
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Muharram/New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Ganesh Chaturthi
Saturday, August 22, 2020
Malaysia's National Day
Monday, August 31, 2020
The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Malaysia Day
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Hol Day
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Birthday of the Governor of Sabah
Saturday, October 3, 2020
Birthday of the Governor of Malacca
Friday, October 9, 2020
Birthday of the Governor of Sarawak
Saturday, October 10, 2020
Navaratri
Saturday, October 17, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Pahang
Saturday, October 24, 2020
Dussehra
Sunday, October 25, 2020
The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Perak
Friday, November 6, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan (Day 2)
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Saturday, November 14, 2020
Birthday of the Sultan of Selangor
Friday, December 11, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Friday, December 25, 2020
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 31, 2020