Russian Federation has a total of 31 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
Russians celebrate New Year’s Day in accordance with the Gregorian calendar on January 1.
Monday January 1 National holiday
New Year Holiday Week
A 2012 decree has extended the number of days, and the dates for the New Year break.
Monday January 8 National holiday
Orthodox Christmas Day
Many Russians celebrate Christmas Day on January 7 in the Gregorian calendar, which corresponds to December 25 in the Julian calendar.
Sunday January 7 National holiday,Orthodox
Old New Year
Sunday January 14 Observance
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Wednesday February 14 Observance
Defender of the Fatherland Day
Many Russians celebrate Defender of the Fatherland Day on February 23, when they honor military forces and veterans.
Friday February 23 National holiday
Special Operations Forces Day
Special Operations Forces Day in Russia falls on February 27.
Tuesday February 27 Observance
International Women's Day
Many Russians pay tribute to women’s role in Russian society by celebrating International Women’s Day on March 8.
Thursday March 8 National holiday
Bridge Public holiday
Friday March 9 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Orthodox Easter Day
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Sunday April 8 Observance,Orthodox
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Saturday April 14 Muslim
Special working day
Saturday December 29 Weekend
Spring and Labor Day Holiday
A 2012 decree has changed the number of days, and the dates for the Spring and Labor Day Holidays.
Wednesday May 2 National holiday
Spring and Labor Day
For many Russians, Spring and Labor Day, which falls on May 1, is a family holiday and a time for relaxation.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Victory Day
One of the biggest Russian holidays, Victory Day, marks Germany’s surrender to the Soviet Union in 1945, ending one of the bloodiest wars in Russia’s history.
Wednesday May 9 National holiday
Ramadan starts
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Wednesday May 16 Muslim
Lailat al-Qadr
Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Sunday June 10 Muslim
Russia Day Weekend
Monday June 11 National holiday
Russia Day
Russia Day, annually celebrated on June 12, marks the beginning of democratic reforms in Russia and is one of the newest holidays in the Russian Federation.
Tuesday June 12 National holiday
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Friday June 15 Muslim
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Wednesday August 22 Muslim
Day of Knowledge
Saturday September 1 Observance
Muharram
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Wednesday September 12 Muslim
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Unity Day
Unity Day, which is on November 4, is one of the newest and the most controversial holidays in Russia.
Sunday November 4 National holiday
Unity Day observed
Unity Day, which is on November 4, is one of the newest and the most controversial holidays in Russia.
Monday November 5 National holiday
The Prophet's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday November 21 Muslim
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Extra holiday in lieu of Dec. 29
Monday December 31 National holiday