Costa Rica has a total of 23 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Saint Joseph's Day
Monday March 19 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday March 29 National holiday,Christian
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday,Christian
Battle of Rivas
Wednesday April 11 National holiday
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Father´s Day
Sunday June 17 Observance
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Annexation of Guanacaste
Wednesday July 25 National holiday
Our Lady of Los Ángeles
Thursday August 2 Observance
Mother's Day
Wednesday August 15 National holiday
National Parks´ Day
Friday August 24 Observance
Children´s Day
Sunday September 9 Observance
Independence Day
Saturday September 15 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Day of the Cultures
Friday October 12 Observance
All Souls' Day
All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Friday November 2 Observance
Teacher´s Day
Thursday November 22 Observance
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Saturday December 8 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday,Christian
New Year´s Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance