Sao Tome and Principe has a total of 12 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day of King Amador
Friday, January 4, 2019 Day of King Amador is a public holiday in Sao Tome and Principe
Commemoration of the Batepá Massacre
Sunday, February 3, 2019 Commemoration of the Batepá Massacre is a public holiday in Sao Tome and Principe
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Sao Tome and Principe (São Tomé)
Labour Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Sao Tome and Principe (São Tomé)
Independence Day
Friday, July 12, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Sao Tome and Principe
Armed Forces' Day
Friday, September 6, 2019 Armed Forces' Day is a public holiday in Sao Tome and Principe
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Sao Tome and Principe (São Tomé)
Nationalization of the Roças
Monday, September 30, 2019 Nationalization of the Roças is a public holiday in Sao Tome and Principe
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Sao Tome and Principe (São Tomé)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.