Zambia has a total of 19 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
International Women's Day
Thursday March 8 National holiday
Youth Day
Monday March 12 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 Common local holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
May Day
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Mother's Day
Sunday May 13 Observance
Africa Freedom Day
Friday May 25 National holiday
Father's Day
Sunday June 17 Observance
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Heroes Day
Monday July 2 National holiday
Unity Day
Tuesday July 3 National holiday
Farmers Day
Monday August 6 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Independence Day
Wednesday October 24 National holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday