Somalia has a total of 14 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Friday April 13 National holiday
May Day
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Friday June 15 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Independence of British Somaliland
Tuesday June 26 Observance
Independence Day
Sunday July 1 National holiday
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Wednesday August 22 National holiday
Muharram
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Wednesday September 12 National holiday
Ashura
Friday September 21 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
The Prophet's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday November 21 National holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season