Sweden has a total of 33 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Twelfth Night
Friday January 5 Observance
Epiphany
Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Saturday January 6 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 25 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday March 31 Observance
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 National holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
Walpurgis Night
Monday April 30 Observance
May 1st
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday May 10 National holiday
Pentecost Eve
Saturday May 19 Observance
Whit Sunday
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday May 20 National holiday
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 27 Observance
National day
Wednesday June 6 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Midsummer Eve
Friday June 22 Observance
Midsummer Day
Saturday June 23 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 28 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
All Saints' Eve
Friday November 2 Observance
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Saturday November 3 National holiday
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday November 11 Observance
First Advent Sunday
The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Sunday December 2 Observance,Christian
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday December 9 Observance,Christian
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday December 16 Observance,Christian
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday December 23 Observance,Christian
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
Boxing Day
Wednesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance