Panama has a total of 25 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Martyr´s Day
Tuesday January 9 National holiday
Carnival
Monday February 12 Common local holiday
Carnival/Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Tuesday February 13 National holiday
Carnival/Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Wednesday February 14 Common local holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday March 29 Christian,Common local holiday
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday,Christian
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday March 31 Christian,Common local holiday
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 Observance,Christian
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Foundation of Old Panama City
Wednesday August 15 Common local holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Independence Day
Saturday November 3 National holiday
Flag Day
Sunday November 4 Common local holiday
Colon Day
Monday November 5 National holiday
Shout in Villa de los Santos
Saturday November 10 National holiday
Day off for Independence from Spain
Monday November 26 National holiday
Independence from Spain
Wednesday November 28 National holiday
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Saturday December 8 National holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 24 Common local holiday
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday,Christian
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Common local holiday