Malawi has a total of 16 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
John Chilembwe Day
Monday January 15 National holiday
Martyrs' Day
Saturday March 3 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
May Day
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Kamuzu Day
Monday May 14 National holiday
Freedom Day
Thursday June 14 National holiday
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Friday June 15 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Independence Day
Friday July 6 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Mother's Day
Monday October 8 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday