Montenegro has a total of 19 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
New Year's Day (day 2)
Tuesday January 2 National holiday
Christmas Eve (Orthodox)
Saturday January 6 National holiday,Orthodox
Christmas Day (Orthodox)
Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Sunday January 7 National holiday,Orthodox
Christmas Day, day 2 (Orthodox)
Monday January 8 National holiday,Orthodox
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Good Friday (Orthodox)
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Friday April 6 National holiday,Orthodox
Easter Sunday (Orthodox)
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Sunday April 8 Observance,Orthodox
Easter Monday (Orthodox)
Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Monday April 9 National holiday,Orthodox
Labour Day/May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Labour Day/May Day (day 2)
Wednesday May 2 National holiday
Independence Day
Monday May 21 National holiday
Independence Day (day 2)
Tuesday May 22 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Statehood Day
Friday July 13 National holiday
Statehood Day (day 2)
Saturday July 14 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance