United Kingdom has a total of 91 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year's Day marks the start of a new year in the Gregorian calendar, the official calendar used in the United Kingdom.
Monday January 1 National holiday
2nd January
January 2 is an annual bank holiday and the last day of the Hogmanay (New Year) celebrations in Scotland.
Tuesday January 2 Local holiday
Epiphany
Epiphany, or Twelfth Night, marks the visit of the three wise men, or Magi, to Jesus and Jesus' baptism, which was performed by John the Baptist. This event is observed in the United Kingdom on January 6 each year.
Saturday January 6 Christian
Orthodox Christmas Day
Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom celebrate the Nativity of Christ (Jesus' birth) on the Orthodox Christmas Day.
Sunday January 7 Orthodox
Orthodox New Year
Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom mark the start of a new calendar year on either January 1 or 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday January 14 Orthodox
Burns Night
Burns Night celebrates the life and work of Robert Burns and Scottish culture in general. It is on or around January 25 each year.
Thursday January 25 Local observance
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Wednesday January 31 Hebrew
Maha Shivaratri
Tuesday February 13 Hinduism
Carnival/Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is also known as Pancake Tuesday in the United Kingdom.
Tuesday February 13 Christian
Carnival/Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday is a Christian observance in the United Kingdom. It is the first day of Lent.
Wednesday February 14 Christian
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is celebrated in the UK as a day of love and falls on February 14 every year.
Wednesday February 14 Observance
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year in the United Kingdom (UK) marks the start of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Friday February 16 Observance
Purim
Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Thursday March 1 Hebrew
St. David's Day
People in Wales and Welsh communities around the world celebrate the life of their patron saint, St David, and the culture of their country on St David’s Day.
Thursday March 1 Observance
Holi
Friday March 2 Hinduism
Mothering Sunday
Mothering Sunday, or Mother's Day, is traditionally a day to visit your mother church. It is now an occasion to bring gifts to your own mother.
Sunday March 11 Observance
St Patrick's Day
St Patrick's Day remembers the life and deeds of St Patrick, one of Ireland's patron saints. It also celebrates Irish culture.
Saturday March 17 Local holiday
Day off for St Patrick's Day
St Patrick's Day remembers the life and deeds of St Patrick, one of Ireland's patron saints. It also celebrates Irish culture.
Monday March 19 Local holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday in the United Kingdom celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Sunday March 25 Christian
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 25 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Maundy Thursday
Many Christians in the United Kingdom celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
Thursday March 29 Christian
Good Friday
Good Friday is just before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in the United Kingdom.
Friday March 30 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday in the United Kingdom.
Saturday March 31 Christian
First day of Passover
Passover marks the Israelites' liberation from slavery and their exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Saturday March 31 Hebrew
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ's resurrection. The Easter egg hunt is one of the most popular Easter traditions
Sunday April 1 Observance,Christian
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday. It is a bank holiday in England, Wales and Northern Ireland but not in Scotland.
Monday April 2 Common local holiday
Orthodox Good Friday
Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday, also known as Holy Friday.
Friday April 6 Orthodox
Last day of Passover
On the 8th and last day of Passover, Jews in the UK commemorate the Parting of the Red Sea and the Israelites' escape from Egypt.
Saturday April 7 Hebrew
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Saturday April 7 Orthodox
Orthodox Easter
Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom commemorate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Day, also known as Pascha.
Sunday April 8 Orthodox
Orthodox Easter Monday
Many Orthodox churches in the United Kingdom observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Monday April 9 Orthodox
Yom HaShoah
Yom Hashoah, held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan, remembers the Holocaust victims who died during World War II.
Thursday April 12 Hebrew
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven, and returned.
Friday April 13 Muslim
Yom HaAtzmaut
Celebrated on the fifth day of the Jewish month of Iyar, Yom Ha’Atzmaut is Israel’s Independence Day.
Thursday April 19 Hebrew
St. George's Day
St George's Day in England is a celebration of Saint George, a Christian martyr and soldier in the Roman army.
Monday April 23 Observance
Shakespeare Day
National Shakespeare Day, also known as Shakespeare Day, is annually held on April 23.
Monday April 23 Observance
Lag B'Omer
Jewish people observe Lag BaOmer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Thursday May 3 Hebrew
Early May Bank Holiday
May Day, or the Early May Bank holiday, is on the first Monday of May each year.
Monday May 7 National holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Thursday May 10 Christian
Ramadan Start
Muslims in the United Kingdom welcome Ramadan as a period of fasting, self-evaluation, and spiritual growth.
Wednesday May 16 Muslim
Pentecost
Many Christians in the United Kingdom observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday May 20 Christian
Shavuot
Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among Jewish people in the UK.
Sunday May 20 Hebrew
Whit Monday
Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Monday May 21 Christian
Trinity Sunday
Trinity Sunday, which is the first Sunday after Pentecost, is a Christian feast that is observed in many churches in the United Kingdom.
Sunday May 27 Christian
Spring Bank Holiday
The spring bank holiday in the United Kingdom is on the last Monday of May each year.
Monday May 28 National holiday
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday May 31 Christian
Queen's Birthday
The Queen's birthday, also known as the Queen's Official Birthday, is celebrated in many Commonwealth countries around the world. It is a public holiday in countries such as Australia, New Zealand, and Gibraltar, although on different dates.
Saturday June 9 Observance
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Laylatul Qadr, the Night of Power, is the holiest day of the Islamic calendar year.
Sunday June 10 Muslim
Eid ul Fitr
Eid ul-Fitr is a Muslim celebration that marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Friday June 15 Muslim
Father's Day
Father's Day in the United Kingdom honors fathers and celebrates fatherhood.
Sunday June 17 Observance
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Windrush Day
Windrush Day is an annual observance in the UK honoring the British Caribbean community.
Friday June 22 Observance
Battle of the Boyne
Orangemen's Day is a bank holiday in Northern Ireland to commemorate the Battle of the Boyne.
Thursday July 12 Local holiday
Tisha B'Av
Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of mourning, which falls on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Sunday July 22 Hebrew
Summer Bank Holiday
The summer bank holiday is on the first Monday of August in Scotland and the last Monday of August in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Monday August 27 Common local holiday
Assumption of Mary
The feast of the Dormition or Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is celebrated by some Christian denominations in the United Kingdom on August 15.
Wednesday August 15 Christian
Eid ul Adha
Eid ul-Adha is an Islamic festival to remember Ibrahim's willingness to sacrifice his son to God.
Tuesday August 21 Muslim
Raksha Bandhan
Sunday August 26 Hinduism
Janmashtami
Sunday September 2 Hinduism
Rosh Hashana
Rosh Hashanah, also spelled Rosh Hashana, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year.
Monday September 10 Hebrew
Muharram/Islamic New Year
The first day of Muharram, which is the first month in the Islamic calendar, marks the Islamic New Year.
Wednesday September 12 Muslim
Ganesh Chaturthi
Thursday September 13 Hinduism
Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur is arguably the holiest of the Jewish holidays. It is celebrated in October or November.
Wednesday September 19 Hebrew
Ashura
Ashura is a Muslim holiday that is notorious for a painful ritual—a tradition that only a minority of UK Muslims observes.
Friday September 21 Muslim
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
First day of Sukkot
Sukkot is a Jewish holiday lasting 7 days. It begins on the 15th of Tishrei, which falls into September or October.
Monday September 24 Hebrew
Hoshana Rabbah
Jewish people in the UK celebrate Hoshana Rabbah, also spelled Hoshana Raba, on the last day of the Sukkot festival.
Sunday September 30 Hebrew
Shemini Atzeret
Shemini Atzeret, also spelled Shmini Atzeret, is a joyous Jewish holiday that immediately follows the Sukkot festival.
Monday October 1 Hebrew
Simchat Torah
Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Tuesday October 2 Hebrew
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Many churches in the United Kingdom celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Thursday October 4 Christian
Navaratri
Wednesday October 10 Hinduism
Dussehra
Thursday October 18 Hinduism
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 28 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Halloween
Halloween is an observance celebrated at the end of October by holding parties, dressing up and going 'trick-or-treating'.
Wednesday October 31 Observance
All Saints' Day
Many Christians in the United Kingdom observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day, each year.
Thursday November 1 Christian
All Souls' Day
All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christian communities in the United Kingdom on November 2 each year.
Friday November 2 Christian
Guy Fawkes Day
Guy Fawkes' Night, or Bonfire Night, commemorates the prevention of a plot to blow up the Houses of Parliament in London in 1605.
Monday November 5 Observance
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
Wednesday November 7 Observance
Remembrance Sunday
The United Kingdom observes Remembrance Day to remember those who sacrificed their lives during wars and conflicts, including World War I.
Sunday November 11 Observance
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Milad un Nabi, also called Mawlid, marks the birthday of prophet Muhammad.
Wednesday November 21 Muslim
St Andrew's Day
St Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland and St Andrew's Day is a bank holiday in Scotland.
Friday November 30 Local holiday
First Sunday of Advent
The first Sunday in Advent is the start of the liturgical or church year for many Christians as well as the Christmas season for people in the United Kingdom (UK).
Sunday December 2 Observance
First Day of Hanukkah
Jewish people around the world celebrate Hanukkah to commemorate an event traditionally termed the miracle of the cruse of oil.
Monday December 3 Hebrew
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception celebrates the conception of Mary, mother of Jesus Christ, on December 8 each year.
Saturday December 8 Christian
Last day of Hanukkah
The eighth and last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a period in which Jews commemorate the miracle of the cruse of oil.
Monday December 10 Hebrew
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day. It is not a public holiday in England, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is a holiday that traditionally celebrates Jesus Christ's birth. It is on December 25 in the United Kingdom.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
Boxing Day
Boxing Day is a holiday in the United Kingdom that falls on December 26 each year.
Wednesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year's Eve, or Hogmanay in Scotland, is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance