France has a total of 25 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year's Day is the first day of the year in France.
Monday January 1 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 25 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Good Friday
Good Friday is an occasion for Christians in France to commemorate Jesus Christ’s crucifixion.
Friday March 30 Local holiday
Easter Day
Many Christians in France celebrate Jesus Christ's resurrection on Easter Sunday.
Sunday April 1 Observance
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
Labor Day / May Day
People in France give loved ones flowers and may celebrate or campaign for workers' rights on May Day, also known as Labor Day.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
WWII Victory Day
WWII Victory Day marks the anniversary of the official end of World War II and is a public holiday in France.
Tuesday May 8 National holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day marks the day that Jesus ascended to heaven, according to Christian belief.
Thursday May 10 National holiday
Whit Sunday
Pentecost Sunday is 50 days after Easter Sunday. It marks the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers, according to Christian belief.
Sunday May 20 Observance
Whit Monday
Pentecost Monday is the day after Pentecost Sunday. It is a public holiday in France.
Monday May 21 National holiday
Mother's Day
Mothers and mother figures are honored with cards, gifts and other acts of kindness on Mothers’ Day in France.
Sunday May 27 Observance
Father's Day
Families across France remember their fathers and father figures on Fathers’ Day on the third Sunday in June.
Sunday June 17 Observance
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Bastille Day
Bastille Day is an occasion to honor the French Republic. It is a public holiday in France.
Saturday July 14 National holiday
Assumption of Mary
The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven.
Wednesday August 15 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 28 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
All Saints' Day
All Saints' Day celebrates all Christian saints, particularly those who have no special feast days of their own. It is a public holiday in France.
Thursday November 1 National holiday
Armistice Day
Armistice Day marks the anniversary of the end of World War I. It is a public holiday in France.
Sunday November 11 National holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and is an important occasion for many French families.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is an occasion for Christians to celebrate Jesus Christ's birth. It is public holiday in France.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
St Stephen's Day
St Stephen's Day is an occasion for Christians to honor St Stephen's life and is a public holiday in France's Alsace-Moselle region.
Wednesday December 26 Local holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance