Ecuador has a total of 22 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Carnival
Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Tuesday February 13 National holiday
Special working day (compensation for Carnival Monday)
Saturday February 17 Observance
Special working day (compensation for Carnival Tuesday)
Saturday February 24 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday March 29 Observance,Christian
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday,Christian
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday March 31 Observance,Christian
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 Observance,Christian
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
The Battle of Pichincha
Thursday May 24 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Simón Bolívar´s Birthday Memorial
Tuesday July 24 Observance
Independence Day
Friday August 10 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Independence of Guayaquil
Tuesday October 9 National holiday
All Soul´s Day
All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Friday November 2 National holiday
Independence of Cuenca
Saturday November 3 National holiday
Foundation of Quito
Thursday December 6 Local holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday,Christian
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance