Australia has a total of 93 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year's Day is the first day of the year in the Gregorian calendar used in Australia and many other countries.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Epiphany
Many people in countries such as Australia annually observe Epiphany on January 6.
Saturday January 6 Christian
Orthodox Christmas Day
Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia observe Christmas Day on or near January 7 in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday January 7 Orthodox
Orthodox New Year
Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia celebrate New Year’s Day on January 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday January 14 Orthodox
Australia Day
Australia Day is a day of celebrations for Australians. It is celebrated on January 26 each year.
Friday January 26 National holiday
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Wednesday January 31 Hebrew
Royal Hobart Regatta
The Royal Hobart Regatta is an annual public holiday in southern Tasmania, Australia, on the second Monday in February.
Monday February 12 Local holiday
Carnival/Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is the day before the start of the Lent period for many Christians in Australia.
Tuesday February 13 Christian
Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in for many Christians in Australia.
Wednesday February 14 Christian
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day, which is annually held on February 14, is one of the most romantic days in the year for many people in countries such as Australia.
Wednesday February 14 Observance
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year marks the first day of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Friday February 16 Observance
Purim
Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Thursday March 1 Hebrew
Labour Day
Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Monday October 1 Common local holiday
Eight Hours Day
Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Monday March 12 Common local holiday
Adelaide Cup
Adelaide Cup is a state holiday and a horse racing event in South Australia.
Monday March 12 Local holiday
Canberra Day
Canberra Day is a public holiday that celebrates Canberra’s official founding in the Australian Capital Territory.
Monday March 12 Local holiday
National Close the Gap Day
Thursday March 15 Observance
St Patrick's Day
St Patrick’s Day is a popular observance in Australia to honor Irish culture and commemorate one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick.
Saturday March 17 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Harmony Day
Harmony Day is a national observance that celebrates Australia’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity on March 21 every year.
Wednesday March 21 Observance
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday in Australia celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Sunday March 25 Christian
Maundy Thursday
Many Christians in the Australia celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
Thursday March 29 Christian
Good Friday
Good Friday is two days before Easter Sunday and is a national holiday in Australia.
Friday March 30 National holiday,Christian
First day of Passover
Passover is a Jewish observance of the liberation from slavery and the Israelites' exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Saturday March 31 Hebrew
Daylight Saving Time ends
Saturday March 31 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in some states and the two territories in Australia.
Saturday March 31 Common local holiday
Easter Day
On Easter Sunday, Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ after his crucifixion.
Sunday April 1 Observance
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a nationwide holiday in Australia.
Monday April 2 National holiday,Christian
Easter Tuesday
Easter Tuesday is a public holiday in the Australian state of Tasmania.
Tuesday April 3 Local holiday
Orthodox Good Friday
Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday.
Friday April 6 Orthodox
Last day of Passover
The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Saturday April 7 Hebrew
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Saturday April 7 Orthodox
Orthodox Easter
Many Orthodox Christians in Australia celebrate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Sunday, also known as Pascha.
Sunday April 8 Orthodox
Orthodox Easter Monday
Many Orthodox churches in Australia observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Monday April 9 Orthodox
Yom HaShoah
Yom Hashoah remembers the lives and sacrifices of about six million Holocaust victims who died during World War II. This observance is annually held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan.
Thursday April 12 Hebrew
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Friday April 13 Muslim
Yom HaAtzmaut
Many Jewish communities in Australia celebrate Yom Ha’Atzmaut, which is Israel’s Independence Day, on the fifth day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Thursday April 19 Hebrew
ANZAC Day
ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
Wednesday April 25 National holiday
Lag B'Omer
Many Jewish Australians observe Lag B’Omer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Thursday May 3 Hebrew
May Day
Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Monday May 7 Common local holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Thursday May 10 Christian
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day is celebrated in Australia on the second Sunday of May each year.
Sunday May 13 Observance
Ramadan Start
Many Muslims in Australia welcome Ramadan as period of fasting, self-evaluation and spiritual growth. Ramadan is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Wednesday May 16 Muslim
Pentecost
Many Christians in Australia observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday May 20 Christian
Shavuot
Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among many Jewish Australians.
Sunday May 20 Hebrew
Whit Monday
Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Monday May 21 Christian
National Sorry Day
National Sorry Day is an Australia-wide observance that acknowledges the impact of Australia’s Stolen Generations.
Saturday May 26 Observance
Trinity Sunday
Many churches in Australia observe Trinity Sunday, a Christian feast that occurs on the first Sunday after Pentecost.
Sunday May 27 Christian
Reconciliation Day
Reconciliation Day is a state holiday in the Australian Capital Territory.
Monday May 28 Local holiday
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday May 31 Christian
Western Australia Day
Foundation Day is a public holiday in the state of Western Australia to commemorate the founding of the first British colony in the state.
Monday June 4 Common local holiday
Queensland Day
Queenslanders commemorate their state’s birthday on Queensland Day in Australia.
Wednesday June 6 Local observance
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Laylat al-Qadr is most likely to be held on one of the last 10 days of month of Ramadan in the Islamic calendar.
Sunday June 10 Muslim
Queen's Birthday
Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
Monday October 1 Common local holiday
Eid ul Fitr
Eid al-Fitr, which is on the first day of the Islamic month of Shawwal, marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Friday June 15 Muslim
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
First Day of NAIDOC Week
Sunday July 8 Observance
Tisha B'Av
Tisha B’Av is on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Sunday July 22 Hebrew
New South Wales Bank Holiday
The New South Wales Bank Holiday falls on the first Monday of August.
Monday August 6 Local holiday
Northern Territory Picnic Day
Picnic Day is a public holiday annually held in Australia’s Northern Territory on the first Monday of August.
Monday August 6 Local holiday
Assumption of Mary
The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an annual Christian observance in Australia held on August 15. It is considered a Holy Day of Obligation - a day when some Christian denominations are obliged to attend mass.
Wednesday August 15 Christian
Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland
The Royal National Agricultural (RNA) Show Day is usually held in Brisbane, the capital city of the state of Queensland, Australia, on the second or third Wednesday in August.
Wednesday August 15 Local holiday
Eid ul Adha
Many Muslims in Australia celebrate Eid al- Adha around the 10th to the 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah.
Wednesday August 22 Muslim
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates the contribution that fathers and father figures make to their children’s lives.
Sunday September 2 Observance
Rosh Hashana
Rosh Hashana, also spelled Rosh Hashanah, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year. The event begins on the first day of Tishrei (or Tishri), which is the seventh month in the Jewish calendar.
Monday September 10 Hebrew
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Wednesday September 12 Muslim
Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur is an important Jewish holiday that falls on the 10th day of the month of Tishrei in the Jewish calendar.
Wednesday September 19 Hebrew
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
First day of Sukkot
The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival for Jewish communities in Australia.
Monday September 24 Hebrew
AFL Grand Final Friday
Friday September 28 Local holiday
Hoshana Rabbah
Many Jewish communities in Australia observe the last day of Sukkot, which marks the end of the Sukkot festival.
Sunday September 30 Hebrew
Shemini Atzeret
Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) marks the end of Sukkot and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Monday October 1 Hebrew
Simchat Torah
Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Tuesday October 2 Hebrew
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Many churches in Australia celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Thursday October 4 Christian
Daylight Saving Time starts
Saturday October 6 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in Australian communities on October 31 each year.
Wednesday October 31 Observance
All Saints' Day
Many churches in Australia annually observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Thursday November 1 Christian
All Souls' Day
All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christians in Australia on November 2 each year.
Friday November 2 Christian
Recreation Day
Recreation Day is annually celebrated in northern Tasmania, in Australia, on the first Monday of November.
Monday November 5 Local holiday
Melbourne Cup Day
Melbourne Cup Day is Australia’s most celebrated horse racing event. It is an annual public holiday in the state of Victoria and is observed nationwide on the first Tuesday of November.
Tuesday November 6 Local holiday
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
Wednesday November 7 Observance
Remembrance Day
Remembrance Day in Australia is annually observed on November 11 although it is not a public holiday. This event remembers those who died as a result of war, particularly from World War I onwards.
Sunday November 11 Observance
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Eid Milad ul-Nabi marks the anniversary of the Prophet Muhammad's birth and death.
Wednesday November 21 Muslim
First Sunday of Advent
Many Christians mark the First Sunday of Advent as the start of the Advent season leading up to Christmas.
Sunday December 2 Observance
First Day of Hanukkah
The first day of Hanukkah is the start of the Hanukkah period, which lasts for 8 days, from the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday December 3 Hebrew
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Some Christians, particularly those of Catholic faith, in Australia mark the Feast of the Immaculate Conception on or around December 8.
Saturday December 8 Christian
Last day of Hanukkah
The last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a festive Jewish occasion, known as Hanukkah or Chanukah.
Monday December 10 Hebrew
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve in Australia is annually celebrated on December 24, which is the day before Christmas Day.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus on Christmas Day, which is in the middle of summer in Australia.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday,Christian
Boxing Day
December 26 is the Boxing Day holiday celebrated in Australia.
Wednesday December 26 National holiday,Christian
Proclamation Day
December 26 is the Boxing Day holiday celebrated in Australia.
Wednesday December 26 Local holiday
New Year's Eve
Many Australians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 each year, which coincides with the date before New Year’s Day in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance