Germany has a total of 72 holidays in 2017. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Sunday January 1
Epiphany
Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Friday January 6
Franco-German Day
Sunday January 22
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Friday January 27
European Privacy Day
Saturday January 28
Children's Hospice Day
Friday February 10
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Tuesday February 14
Shrove Monday
Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Monday February 27
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Tuesday February 28
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Wednesday March 1
International Women's Day
Wednesday March 8
St. Patrick's Day
St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
Friday March 17
March Equinox
Monday March 20
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 26
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Sunday April 9
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday April 13
Good Friday
Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Friday April 14
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Sunday April 16
Easter Monday
Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
Monday April 17
German Beer Day
Sunday April 23
Girls' Day - Career Information Day
Thursday April 27
Walpurgis Night
Sunday April 30
May Day
May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
Monday May 1
Europe Day
Friday May 5
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 14
Constitution Day
Tuesday May 23
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Thursday May 25
Ascension Day
Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
Thursday May 25
International Childrens' Day
Thursday June 1
European Bicycle Day
Saturday June 3
Whit Sunday
Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
Sunday June 4
Whit Monday
The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
Monday June 5
Visually Impaired People Day
Tuesday June 6
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
Thursday June 15
Day of Music (first day)
Friday June 16
Car-free Sunday
Sunday June 18
June Solstice
Wednesday June 21
Architecture Day
Saturday June 24
Peace Festival in Augsburg
The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Tuesday August 8
Assumption of Mary
The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
Tuesday August 15
World Peace Day
Friday September 1
Day of the Homeland
Saturday September 2
German Language Day
Saturday September 9
European Heritage Days (Day of the Open Monument)
Sunday September 10
German Food Bank Day
Saturday September 16
German World Childrens' Day
Wednesday September 20
September Equinox
Friday September 22
Harvest Festival
Sunday October 1
Day of German Unity
German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
Tuesday October 3
Day of the Libraries
Tuesday October 24
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 29
World Thrift Day
Monday October 30
Reformation Day
Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Tuesday October 31
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Tuesday October 31
All Saints' Day
All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
Wednesday November 1
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Thursday November 9
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Thursday November 9
St. Martin's Day
St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
Saturday November 11
National Day of Mourning
On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Sunday November 19
Repentance Day
The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Wednesday November 22
Sunday of the Dead
The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
Sunday November 26
First Advent Sunday
The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Sunday December 3
Saint Nicholas Day
St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Wednesday December 6
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday December 10
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday December 17
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Tuesday December 19
December Solstice
Thursday December 21
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday December 24
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Sunday December 24
Christmas Day
Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Monday December 25
Boxing Day
The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
Tuesday December 26
New Year's Eve
New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday December 31